GreatSchools Rating

Cold Spring School

Public | K-6 | 253 students

We are best known for environmental magnet program

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

My school is Cold Springs Elementary and we love it! My son is 6 years old and was bored at another school in his community in kindergarten. However, at Cold Springs he loves the science and discovery focus at the school. He comes home excited and he is when I drop him off. And for a single mom that means the world to me. Thanks Cold Springs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I love Cold Spring School! My son just started his second year there and it's the first school that he has really enjoyed attending. The teachers care a lot about the students and the outdoor activities they are able to participate in are amazing. They are also very good at communicating with parents and making people feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Cold Spring Elementary has been my child's school since Kindergarten. After three years of attendance, we started to see a downward spiral in academic achievement. The School offers tutoring and though my child attended the PAID before and after school program, tutoring was never awarded. My child was just passed on to the next /5th yr, only for me to request she be sent back and given tutoring and educational evaluation. The staff waited until the 3rd grading period to evaluate and instead tried to affix the ADHD & aggresive labels, citing that there was an "attitude" problem (that I don't experience at home) instead. When I stated my displeasure with the broken promises to tutor and provide resources things only got worse during the fifth year. Ther's a new unconcerned Principal who admits she hadn't familiarized herself with my child's experiences there at Cold Spring. My child was suspended weeks ago; I conferenced my child into that call & I was told that this issue would be looked into & I'd would get a logical "reason" for suspension, as things were exaggerated. The next week my child was "expelled" for hearsay. I have to date (2weeks later) not recieved ANY answers?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

My children have attended both a traditional elementary school (Washington Twp) and a charter school (east side). I am so very thankful that we have found an AMAZING home at Cold Spring. Walking into the building it seems like just any other school. It's what you see in the halls and classroom that sets this school apart from any other top performing school. These students CARE about each other. They are Kind to each other. They RESPECET each other and their differences. You don't see this level of respect and kindness at any other school. The teachers and staff are WONDERFUL and I could go on and on just about them! The outdoor enviroment is a great addition to the curriculum. Having so many community volunteers who give of their time to teach in the greenhouse, gardens and all over the 40 acres of outdoor classroom is inspiring.... I am glad that I CHOSE IPS and Cold Spring for my children. A great school is much more than it's test scores. The smiles on my children's faces when they come home prove it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

I love love love this school. I have two boys and they love that they get to be outside more than their last school. Their teachers are so good and they care. The principal knows all the kids by their first name My husband and I thought that was wonderful. Keep it up everyone at Clod Springs big thumbs ups to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2010

This schools gives students an opportunity to really appreciate nature and the environment through hands on experiences. What other school has a campground, themed gardens and hiking trails!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter loves to go to school because of the environmental aspect of the schools education she's really getting a good sense of life in and out of the classroom. I'm proud to be a parent of CSS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

My oldest has been atensing since Kindergarten, she is now in the 3rd grade and my youngest just entered Kindergarten. I love working with the staff members. They go out of their way to assist the children. The principles ( there have been 2 since my children began attending) are really hands on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

My son has been at cold springs school going on his 7th year. The level of parent involvment is more than I ever seen. There are plenty of activities for the students to get involved in as well as the parents. The academic program just gets better and better every year, not to mention the staff. I highly recommend this school to any parent who wants thier child to get the best of their public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 78% 12%
Multiracial 9% 4%
Hispanic 6% 10%
White 6% 72%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A46%
Special education 21%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:50 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Ms Carrie Scott
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 226-4157

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3650 Cold Spring Road
Indianapolis, IN 46222
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 226-4155

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download