GreatSchools Rating

Crispus Attucks Medical Magnet High School (9-12)

Public | 9-12 | 372 students

We are best known for medical magnet program

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2012

I'm the proud parent of an extremely intelligent 7th Grader that also attended Attucks in the 6th Grade. The principal allows my son to spread his academic wings and take classes that are well above his grade level; and quite successfully I might add. He is currently taking 9th Grade Honors Eng, Alg II, Chem, as well as Geom on-line. He is preparing to take Pre-Cal this summer and for 8th Grade he is slated to take AP Eng, AP Cal, Physics, and World History. Attucks is the best keep secret in all of Indianapolis!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Attucks is a very good school. I currently go there and it's ok but the teachers are very strict sometimes but sometimes yo can have fun with your teachers. They also have great thinggs 7th grade take algebra at as early as a grade they have great classes!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2009

If you are willing to work and try or grades with a goal for a medical career in mind, this is the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2009

My son just completed his first year at Crispus Attucks as an 8th grader. I was very nervous about sending him to such a large school but to date, I have been very impressed. Mr. Faulkens and his staff run that school well. My children have been to private schools and charter schools. I can honestly say that my son is receiving a quality education. I am honored for my children to attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

I think that Attucks just needs to add more. I mean, the teachers are great and I'm already way ahead in my education as a freshman because I go there. But, I think they need to add more classes because they just have the basics and that's not good enough if people expect Attucks to become a top high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

attucks is a very bad school i do not think they are ready to bcome a real high school. i am a former student and i am sooo happy that i left i now go to brhs and i am dooin a very good job attucks use to be a good school but now they are doing to much..... its seemz as if they forgot about the education.............


Posted January 11, 2008

I go there and it is a great school the rule are a little stirn but fair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2005

This school is the best i ever khown for this i will send my kids here when i grow up. My favorite teacher is ms. Diamond she is the best teacher ever.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
20%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

93%

Average SAT score

427

Graduation rate

98.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
79%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
42%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.5
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
22
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
62%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 64% 12%
Hispanic 21% 10%
White 9% 72%
Multiracial 6% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A46%
Special education 5%N/A14%
English learners 6%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
  • Science

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:40 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms Stephanie Nixon
Fax number
  • (317) 226-3495

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Medical
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1140 Doctor Martin Luther King Junior Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 226-2800

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download