GreatSchools Rating

Belzer Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1140 students

We are best known for high expectations & academic success
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

In case people forgot, EVERYTHING has its pros and cons. Every school is going to have its problems. My daughter just left Belzer last year, she was there for her 7th and 8th grade years. She LOVED it there (as much as a child can love school). One of the things that my daughter loved about Belzer was the principal Mr. Knoderer. She noted how he made a point to know all of his students; he saw a face... he knew their name. He talked to them about how they were doing; he valued them all and their opinions and I think much of the staff fed off of this as well. I've had a few emotional/mental concerns with my daughter due to a great deal of loss in her life and when sharing this with her counselor Mrs. Neal, she showed great compassion, maintained communication with myself and her teachers and helped my daughter whenever she needed it. I cannot say enough how much I've loved Lawrence Township! I hope it only continues to prosper!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2014

Our daughter attended Belzer for 7th and 8th grade. We were very pleased with the quality of her education. The communication from teachers was excellent and consistent. She greatly enjoyed the extracurriculars including band and sports. Belzer prepared her very well to take advanced courses in high school. We are eager for our next child to come to Belzer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I have 2 sons who attend BMS and 1 son who is now in high school and he also attended BMS from 7th to 8th grade. My personal opinion regarding BMS is that the teachers that my sons have had throughout their tenure @ BMS are good at what they do and seem to be sincere in making sure that the students understand what is expected of them and make sure they retain and understand the information that is being taught throughout the year with lots of different resources. I also like the fact that each grade has a team and that there's 1 teacher that is designated the team leader of the team and on a more regular basis sends emails to the parents upcoming homework, progress reports, upcoming events, etc. Keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I have two boys in Belzer Middle School and have been fortunate enough to always have a fairly good group of teachers. We have also been fortunate enough to have a few teachers that truly have made a difference for my sons. And my experience with school staff outside of my own children has always shown them to be caring and interested in the best interests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

Belzer Middle School is a great school that provides good education for growing teenagers minds and it also packs lots of fun in the learning activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2006

We have had three children attend Belzer Middle School. My last daughter recently completed the 7th grade. We have had excellent teachers during our tenure. There are many opportunities for student and parent involvement. The counselors are experienced and respond promptly to concerns. I have found that in any school setting that it is essential to be a partner with the school. The students that perform academically, follow the rules, and participate in activities are the happiest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

All I ahve to say is that Belzer Middle School is great. They have good teachers, good security, plenty extra-curricular activities, and good classes. Students learn what they should at a rate they are comfortable with. The normal classes are good for people that learn at a normal rate, while the STRETCH program challenges the students highly, seeing they do 8th grade math. This is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2005

This school does offer academic and extracurricular activities. But you the parent's need to get involved with your child. Middle school is a culture shock for us all, my daughter went from F's to A,B honor roll, Avid program, color guard, orchestra and cheerleading and anything that can keep that little mind busy. Belzer has been a learning experience but it's middle school. So quit putting it down and get involved in your childs life, it's not the schools place to raise your kids. Teachers don't get paid enough already, have you looked at their income level ? They don't get paid enought o babysit 25 kids per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2005

I have had mixed feelings about this school. My son had one year that was not very good as far as the teaching, but has had one excellent group of teachers and one average group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

This school provided the best that they could offer given the financial circumstances. Lack of books, space. The school security is getting better. more police are on school grounds, which seems to have assisted the over the top amount of crimes that occur on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2005

As a parent of 3 BMS kids, I have to say that it has been a wonderful experience. My kids loved it there and most of their teachers. No school is perfect and just like the 'real world' they ran into challenging situations, but our kids have gained a lot from being there. The TD classes are challenging - if you let the teachers challenge. My only complaint is that there is clearly a group of parents who 'gang up' on teachers and other parents when they don't get their way. My only advice to them is get over it - you're not gaining anything by putting down others and forcing your way into certain classes or getting your kids put onto teams with 'their friends'. You're not teaching your kids anything by making things easy for them. The world does not revolve around you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2004

The quality of education is extremely inferior to the schools in the suburbs. It is dangerous and the teachers don't seem to care about their students. TD classes are not even as good as regular classes in other schools. The core subjects are weak. School spirit is strong. The school does not seem very safe to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2004

I am a 8th grade student that goes to Belzer, and to me it is one of the best schools ever. Belzer Middle School is one of the first schools to have the Avid Program. This program is a class that prepares students for college. There aren't alot of fights in my opinon, and when there is they call the police and that makes me feel safe. They have a very low tolerance for disruptive students. We have so many parents and helpers and extra curriculum activities that there is hardly anyway to get in trouble. The main reason that the school is a success is because of the principal he is involved in every single student, and mostly everyday he comes and eats in the cafeteria, which shows he cares. This is a wonderful school and I would recommend sending your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2004

If you want your son/daughter to have an inner city experience-this is the school! TD at Belzer isn't the kind of challenge you think. I think the main emphasis at this school is population management. I think kids with potential would be better served outside of Lawrence Township schools. This is not a school I am proud of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I have a son who is going to school, and the teachers are by far do try thier best with him. They have a good staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2004

I have 2 kids in Belzer right now and yes I have heard all about kids being in trouble and the police are called. Well to me that means its safe school that they actually take charge and call the police. Where we came from if my kids got hurt from a kid in his school at school I had to wait and when my kid got home from school I had to call the police. I think like all schools there are good teachers and some that are not so good but that goes for the parents to. When we have kids that do not want to live by the rules and get into trouble we have parents that back them up. I think that belzer is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

In response to a previous review, I have never seen an arrest or a fight at the school, and I am there once a week. I can't say it never happpens, but the principal runs a tight ship, and I do not worry about my child's safety while at school. My child has great teachers, and she is in the Talent Development program (gifted and talented)and receiving a very good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2003

Belzer is not a safe school for teachers or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Belzer is a good school. The staff is very high quality, caring about students and their academic success. It is a large school and unfortunately things happen! The scores of the students are higher than average and the students are prepared to go on to high school and college. Parents are given ample opportunity to participate and are welcome in classrooms at any time. Belzer is a safe school. It is much safer than most others. People need to look at the whole picture not just a isolated incident. I moved to the area to be in the Belzer district.


Posted August 26, 2003

I have one child attending Belzer at this time and believe it to be an excellent school. I have heard no reports of trouble in the school. They have great academics and extra-curricular activities. I have found the staff to be caring and accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

518 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

516 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

496 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

484 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 12%
White 31% 72%
Hispanic 15% 10%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 8%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Natalie Schneider – Presidential Award for Excellence in Mat (2012)
  • Three 8th grade students from Mr. Mike Connors class – CSPA (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr Troy Knoderer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (317) 543-3355

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Pursuit
  • Art club
  • Campus Life
  • Chess club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • National Honor Society
  • Runing Club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • red, white
School mascot
  • Bruins
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Brook Park
Harrison Hill
Skiles Test

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lawrence Central High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7555 East 56th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46226
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 964-6200

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Choosing a school in Indianapolis?

Planning a visit?

Download the school visit checklist

Download