Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brook Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
I couln't believe the grade this school recieved from the state. My girls have never been happier, nor more challenged than here at Brook Park. We will always support Brook Park!! My girls grades made straight A's all year long, really hard to believe their school got an "F"?!?

Brook Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the sentiment of the parent who posted on August 21, 2013. The is a huge problem with the front office staff, who are very unprofessional, I have observed teachers speaking with very young students in elevated tones, the principle does not return phone calls, and the superintendent's office has been unresponsive to complaints I have made regarding the current dismissal policy. There is an armed police officer standing outside the doors at dismissal time and while I agree that there needs to be an orderly procedure for picking up children at the end of the day, I am not sure that having an armed police officer standing guard helps to improve the parent/administration relationship.

Brook Park Elementary School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
This school has gone down hill in the last 2 years. My daughter started school loving to go everyday. With only 2 weeks in this school year she already no longer wants to go to school. With a teacher that yells at the kids and a principal that does not return phone calls for at least 2 or 3 days I am seriously thinking of putting her in a different school.

Brook Park Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2011
- a community member
I go to Brook Park and it's a okay school. Really environmental, and we do alot of outdoor work. Alot of animals too. The stretch is good but mostly it's just a grade above math and high reading. The stretch is divided into 3 classes. 1-2 in the same class, 3-4, 5-6. Its a fairly large school and taking care of the chickens is fun. Students help out alot with life skills too. My favorite teacher is Ms. Gavit! She's the 5-6 stretch teacher.

Brook Park Elementary School 2

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brook Park Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
Stretch (Gifted) Program is outstanding! We moved from another state and chose this area becuase of the Stretch program. We have 2 children enrolled and they are learning and perfoming at a level unmatched anywhere else.

Brook Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Brook Park Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
My child was accepted into the Stretch program this year, and left our neighborhood school to attend Brook Park. So far, so good. His teacher is very warm, and caring, and her syllabus is rigorous. He is being challenged daily.

Brook Park Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2004
- a parent
An excellent school with caring instructors and an outstanding principal in Barb Stryker. The stretch program offers challenging and varied coursework that requires parental involvement. It is a racially diverse student population, similar to what the student will experience once they enter middle school. High recommendation from parents of three Brook Park 'alums' and one current stretch student.

Brook Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 29, 2004
- a parent
Brook Park is a wonderful school! It is not in a 'bad' neighborhood stated by another parent. It's in a middle class neighborhood. The school is not that old at all (ten yrs old I think). Overall grade for Brook Park: I give them a B+

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brook Park Elementary School
5259 David Street, Indianapolis, IN  46226
(317) 964-4100
Last modified Brook Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brook Park Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.