Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lawrence North High School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
LN offers a wide range of courses including Honors, AP, ACP, IB, AVID, and Spanish Immersion. There are many extra-curricular and co-curricular programs to choose from. My daughter has been involved with golf, swimming, and the drama program. School leadership is excellent and the staff is very caring. We could not be happier with a school for our child, and now our 7th grader is very excited to be a Wildcat!

Lawrence North High School 4

Posted November 17, 2010
- a parent
We've had both ends of the spectrum - 1 child that struggled academically and another who is an honors student. For both kids we feel like LN has been a very positive environment for them to learn and grow. Most of their teachers have been hard working, care a ton about the kids, willing to go well beyond the extra mile. We love the diversity and the wide range of activities available. There are many, many families who are actively involved in helping create a great environment. We're glad those parents are a part of our kids' lives. In my mind the biggest challenge is a small population of students who are disruptive and can at times sort of put a damper on the experience of the majority who want to be there and learn and enjoy a healthy high school experience. When we moved from our former home a few years ago we spent a great deal of time and effort to find a place that would keep our kids at LN. We're very glad we did!

Lawrence North High School 4

Posted August 11, 2009
- a student
Lawrence North is a friendly enviroment to study in. There are many course options and students are challenged to learn. Most teachers care about teaching and help students learn. The GPA and Ranking System is rigged and improperly used so that students in average classes rank higher than students in honors or higher classes. Minorities are sometimes discriminated against.

Lawrence North High School 4

Posted August 11, 2009
- a student
LNHS is a great school. Many teachers go out of their way to help students. They are friendly, and LN is a friendly learning environment. However LN's minorities are discriminated against at times. However efforts made by administrative staff are commendable. The class ranking system and GPA system is rigged (like most high schools). Students in less challenging classes are ranked higher thann those who are in extremely challenging classes and have excellent grades. At LN you go through many different experiences. It's like a piece of real life. There is inequality just like the real world however there are also the individuals that make LN a great school.

Lawrence North High School 4

Posted July 10, 2009
- a student
i just graduated and i can say that it is a great school. sure there are fights, unfair teachers, rude students, etc but overall, my high school period was very good. i had challenging classes and met great friends... what can i say? i like LN :)

Lawrence North High School 4

Posted January 11, 2009
- a teacher
LN is a pretty good school. Most of the teachers go out of their way & put in long hours before/after school to better serve their students. There are many opportunities for tutoring, clubs, community outreach, and athletics. The environment is supportive. LN's certainly not perfect--but no school is. And while some think 2800 students is too many, others think the size allows the large variety of services & activities. The student body is ethnically & economically diverse, the students have opportunities to explore their community & beyond, & the teachers care. All of these are reasons that I feel LN is a good school capable of providing GREAT experiences for kids. I would send my kids here.

Lawrence North High School 3

Posted August 23, 2008
- a parent
Several years ago when we looked at area high schools LN was a 5 Star school with much to offer its students. Now it is a haven for rude and abusive students. There are good kids that attend the school and the AP classes are great. The township needs to provide enough staff and give them more assistance so that they can properly teach our young adults.

Lawrence North High School 5

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lawrence North High School 0
no rating

Posted May 20, 2008
- a student
As I have gone on to higher education at Purdue, Indiana, and the University of Chicago, I can firmly say that LN does NOT prepare its students for life after school. The school suffers from serious disciplinary issues and is not conducive for those that have ambitions to learn. Indiana and the United States, in general, must address our failing school systems, and LN is a classic example. I lived in both the UK and France, and both provide a superior education (barring universities).

Lawrence North High School 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawrence North High School
7802 Hague Road, Indianapolis, IN  46256
(317) 964-7700
Last modified Lawrence North High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lawrence North High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.