Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northaven Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 423 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

My daughter has gone there for four years, and have loved all of her teachers. The teachers make it easy to communicate to each of them and are always available when you need them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

My daughter will be in fifth grade next year. Her present teacher is excellent. I couldn't tell you what the principle looks like never see her. I'm very proud of the teachers and if parents made an effort. Help their kids with homework etc. The kids would do alot better. I am a hands on parent and only time will tell if she is really ready for middle school. Her grades and test score says she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

We are moving so we can get our son out of this school and prevent our other children from going there! The school does not offer much since their test scores are so low. They do not get the funding they need to have good arts and music programs. The teachers do not seem like they care about anything. Last year, the principal was wonderful, but the new principal this year is not near as involved in activities. Any programs at the school are a mess and it's obvious that the teachers are irritated but biting their tongues since parents are watching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

I am so excited that we have a new Principal this year. I have 3 children and been with this school for 7 years. I am glad for the change that was needed for a long time. I feel there are great thing in store for this school now. Love the new Principal!!!!! I will rate it highly now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Northaven Elementary is a subpar school at best. My child is in 3rd grade and is receiving little to no Science or Social Studies instruction. It appears that the schools one and only goal is to develop underachieving children while leaving the above average to their own devices. My daughter is told to sit quietly and read for an hour a day while the teacher gives 'targeted' instruction to below average learners. A school is meant to nuture and develop the minds of those who will step into the role of leaders one day. They should be focusing their attention on those students and sending the below average children to a school where they can be taught individually at their own pace. Children who cannot read at grade level should never be moved on to the next grade only to slow the progress of children with the ability to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I love this school and everyone shall treat it better than it is treated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2006

I have two children in Northaven Elementary, one in Fifth grade and one in Second. I as well as my children love the school. They have a wonderful principal who is involved with every aspect of the school. All of the teachers I have dealt with have been great. They keep parents very involved with their kids progress and education. They have wonderful music, sports and art departments as well as a great PTO program with lots of extracurricular activities. I would not send my kids to any other elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 72%
Hispanic 19% 10%
Multiracial 13% 4%
Black 12% 12%
Asian 4% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A46%
Special education 19%N/A14%
English learners 19%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Tonja Brading
Fax number
  • (812) 288-4862

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1907 Oakridge Drive
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 288-4865

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
Jeffersonville, IN




Riverside Elementary School
Jeffersonville, IN


W E Wilson Elementary
Jeffersonville, IN


Maple Elementary School
Jeffersonville, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT