Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 871 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2013

I was very impressed with River Valley this morning! The school is very nice and open. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The band sounded amazing, such young talent. We enjoyed the Chorus team as well. I feel very thankful my Grandson attends such an awesome school, he is in the 6th grade so we look forward to spending more time at River Valley Middle!


Posted October 25, 2013

My school is a wonderful place where you see students learning everywhere in the building. Although we may not have the best language at this school, we have many other qualities that are four star worthy. We have magnificent overall grades and a friendly environment. I should know because I am a student there. We also have many sports and clubs that anyone can join. We have choir, art, gym, and many other special areas for students to attend throughout the day. I highly recommend that you send your student to RVMS. I love this school and hope to finish out the years to come with great standards. Go River Valley Raiders!


Posted July 10, 2013

I think if you have a child who is more of a leader than a follower and doesn't need a whole lot of one on one attention, then this school is okay. I have 2 children who have done well. My 3rd child has had issues. I have never been impressed with this school mainly because teacher communication is awful! So much has gone on that could have been avoided had I received a phone call or email. Bullying is rampant and not effectively handled. I think maybe the school is too big and the teachers are overwhelmed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

I've seen some of the reviews on here in the past, and I have to disagree with the unfavorable ones. As a seventh-grader on the Flood team, and having previously been on the Varble/Navigator team, I've felt like I was challenged enough in advanced classes. The teachers care about what you have to say, and want you to learn, but will not hesitate to reprimand you if you step out of line. This is my second year here, and I'm enjoying it.


Posted March 7, 2011

I have my daughter at rvms and its a wonderful school atmosphere and the teachers are great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2011

Everyone makes false statements about Rvms I am a student there. Most of the teachers are great. They Truly love the students. There not just there for the money... Because they don't get paid enough to be there for the money. River Valley has a nice building better than half the buildings in Jcps or New Albany Schools. The Princible Mr. Denny, has great leadership. Since he has been there we have raised or testing scores tremendously. We have a great Admininstrative and Teaching Staff. If your trying to find a Middle School for your, I highly suggest this school.


Posted September 23, 2009

i really enjoy school it was fun the favorite teacher would have to be mrs. hurst
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2009

I am a 6th grader at RV and I'm in AP classes.I think it is a wounderful school.The teachers create fun ways to learn that arent just challenging but rewarding also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2008

no that is not true some kids like to pick on other kids that have needs,so some kids at that school aint all that good and the staff aint that good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

Not always the best communication between teachers and parents. The few good teachers they have are outstanding if your child is lucky enough to get in that teachers class you will be satisfied with the school. the new principal is a improvement. so hopefully they are on a up swing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

My daughter is in the 7th grade at RV and has had a wondeful experience both years. She enjoys going to school and feels that it is preparing her for her future. The teachers at RV are caring and want to work with the students to help them reach their full potential. Many students do not come to school with the desire to learn and this creates problems for both the other students and the teachers, but this will occur in every school even private schools. River Valley offers the best academically, as well as extra-curricularly for all students. They have a wonderful music/theater program and an athletic program that includes a variety of sports to meet many different student abilities. I am more than happy that she is here. Parents are encouraged to be involved and I wish mored would take advantage of that opportunity. It would definitely help!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

My child is a 6th grader at this school and I think it is a wonderful school. I was one of the first students to go to this school when it was first built. The staff I have dealt with so far have been wonderful. They have showed much love and concern for my child and have bent over bckwards to help her. Anytime I have been there or called they have done all they cld to assist me. I always say you get out of a situation what you put into it. You put in negative, you get negative bck. You put in positive, you get popsitive bck. as a parent you have to be willing to help by any means possible. The teachers need our help as parents, and it is our responsibility to be there to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

At RVMS The students run the school , there is a lack of disipline as well as a lack of intrest from most of the staff there ( not all ) But they do not have a Good Leader to follow. I hate to see children who want to learn being hassled by agressive children who are not the least bit interested in learning anything other than how to get away with whatever you can !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

When I first started, from what I heard this was a bad school. There are fights and the food (monday-wednesday at least, we get pizza hut and subway) isn't all that great, but it's not as bad as it sound. The teachers are nice and some are fun, the punishment is a little low though. They usually just throw people into In School Suspension most of the time. But there are plenty of dances and events, so once you grow used to it it's really simple.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2004

i came to this school thinking i was going to do good but it turned out that it wasnt that great of an experience...the teachers didn't seem to interested in teaching they just wanted to get their job done..it wasn't really the peer pressure that got me it was the teachers not explaining things and my peers and I trying to figure out how to do things. I loved the last days of school because we didn't do anything and it meant we didn't have to see our teachers anymore(no offense).my 2 years going to RVMS have been pretty bad so far except for my friends who have helped me make it better.RVMS isn't that great of a school, has good classes, but we don't get much focus from teahcers and the principal..the assistant principal was great and I wish she didn't have to go away!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2004

My experience with this school is that most of the teachers are either burnt out or have an 'I don't care' attitude towards the students and they think that most of the students are liars. My experience with my child in particular is that they loved school until he came to middle school, not because of the pressure from other students so much as it is the interaction he/she receives from the teachers. ' School should not be a place that children fear or suffer put downs from teachers, thus causing 'low self esteem' in these very critical times of development! It seems that there is a large disconnect between the teachers / adminstrators. When you call school no one seems to know whats going on, as long as they make the grade, why are you concerned?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2004

I really don't like this school because the majority of the teachers have an I Don't Care attitude toward the students. It seems like the teachers are burnt out from teaching and they want to retire early. I formaly go this school and I like the majority of the teachers and the principal. I like the assisant principal and about eight of the teachers there and that's it. I will be glad when I leave this school because it's terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

Let me first say that this is a very difficult age group to teach and the teachers have my empathy. However, my experience with this school is that most of the teachers are either burnt out or have an 'I don't care' attitude towards the students and they think that most of the students are liars and are all guilty until proven innocent. I feel most of the faculty are overwhelmed with their responsibilities. My experience with my child in particular is that they loved school until they came to middle school, not because of the pressure from other students so much as it is the interaction he/she receives from the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

275 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 72%
Black 14% 12%
Hispanic 14% 10%
Multiracial 9% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A46%
Special education 17%N/A14%
English learners 8%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Wallace Denny
Fax number
  • (800) 288-4839

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2220 Veterans Parkway
Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 288-4848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sacred Heart School
Jeffersonville, IN


Saint Anthony School
Clarksville, IN


Parkview Middle School
Jeffersonville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT