Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Kokomo, IN
Students enrolled: 1,993

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kokomo High School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
great they have a lot of great teachers and everyone there knows what it takes to get the job done

Kokomo High School 1

Posted November 21, 2013
- a student
this school is horrible left and right there are people doing drugs and smoking in the bathrooms or skipping class or fighting the teachers and officers there don't care in fact most of the security guards there are friends and joke with the kids who are skipping... most of the teachers are the ones who give you a worksheet and tell you to do it with no explanation as if they were just there to watch us work and then get paid. This high school spends their money on security that doesn't do what they are supposed to and on stuff that the other students just play on like the laptops... BIG mistake over half of the students use the laptops for things other than school work like walking down the halls (skipping) n blasting their music disrupting everyone who wants to learn and again nobody does anything about it. Honestly the only good thing about KHS is the career center.


Kokomo High School 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a student
Kokomo high school is overall a very good school with the career center and other extra programs they have.

Kokomo High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a student
This is a great school, great classes, great teachers, and just overall great school. There is plenty of police officers at this school contrary to what some are saying. This is also a great school if you don't want to get up early. The night school they have is terrific, and can help you graduate faster if that is right for you.

Kokomo High School 5

Posted March 22, 2013
- a parent
Great school, teachers, different varieties of things to take, and probably one of the best schools in the state, if not the country!


Kokomo High School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a student
This is a great school. Absolutley love the new night school they offer for those that aren't morning birds.

Kokomo High School 5

Posted January 04, 2011
- a parent
My son is receiving an excellent education at Kokomo High School. Half of his day is spent in Advanced Placement courses and half in general education classes. He has had a number of outstanding teachers in AP, Honors, and GenEd classes who hold high expectations for their students. They have held him accountable for his own learning, and several have taken the time to contact me when he has not completed assignments, so we can work as a team to push him to achieve to his potential. While my son has been subject to occasional bullying tactics by a few students, the one time he ever felt concerned enough to notify a principal, administrators very quickly and effectively stopped the problem. Discipline has improved significantly this year, and he feels very safe at school. Kokomo High School has been a great choice to prepare my son for college, and I deeply appreciate the efforts of its administrators, teachers, counselors, and staff.

Kokomo High School 4

Posted December 04, 2010
- a student
This year (2010-2011) the administrators have really improved things. They have just gotten a new tardy system that has students hurrying to class, trying not to be late. The fight numbers have decrease significantly! There is a lot more security here now too. The only bad thing is some kids really don't want to be there, and this ruins the high school experience for several students. The teachers here are really friendly and cool. I think they are easy to get along with and like to have fun as well. The athletics have really taken a step foward. Overall I think this is a good school with some minor problems, but the improvements made were very successful!


Kokomo High School 0
no rating

Posted November 26, 2009
- a student
This school has great AP programs. Last years class received over 4 million dollars in scholarships with students attending Harvard, Notre Dame, Yale, and Princeton. The school also has a very rich athletic tradition with many students receiving scholarships in many sports.

Kokomo High School 3

Posted October 15, 2009
- a student
In my opinion (and as a student), I find the school an okay academic environment but the students who are forced to be there are the ones who make KHS a terrible place. There's always fights and there are no writing classes or even clubs. I know many of my friends who would gladly take a class for creative writing (or join a club).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kokomo High School
2501 South Berkley Road, Kokomo, IN  46902
(765) 455-8040
Last modified Kokomo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kokomo High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top