Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 769 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2013

This school is TERRIBLE.. The bullying that goes on at this School is very out of control.. I have been to the school to complain at least ten times this year due to my child being bullied over and over and over.. It's redictuless.. The principal will assure you they will take care of the issue.. but its nothing other than them telling you what they think you want to hear just to get you out of their office.. This school is SOOO bad they litteraly have video cameras installed through out the whole school.. Everywhere, this school is horrible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2010

I went to this school. I really enjoyed it. To be honest I enjoyed every minute of it, even mondays. I wish I could have stayed for another year but now I have alot of good friends and good memories. I went on a really big field trip to Alabama. I was excited to go there for at least 3 years since 4th grade! I didn't expect to go there with different friends I didn't know. What a great year!


Posted March 24, 2006

Central Middle School is a fine educational facility. They offer many athletic, academic, leadership and social opportunities for the students (many of which have achieved high honors). Teachers make every attempt to ensure the safety and educational process continues daily. Students are provided up front information regarding student expectations. Academically, Central offers opportunities such as Math study table, Bridges Outreach, Spanish Club, CMS Med Center, Science Olympiad, Lego League, Environmental Club, and more. Just last year the Lego League was 4th in the WORLD! It's Student Concil has been an Honor Council for years! ISTEP scores continue to improve each year (many schools cannot say that). Central MS has an active PTO. This organization provides families the opportunity to share time together during special events. Fund raisers help students who may not otherwise have the money participate in educational field trips. I feel very comfortable with what is happening at Central!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 25, 2006

I think this is a terrible school. The teachers are more concern with race than individual students. There is a great deal of bullying that is ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2005

I have found that the follow up on issues related to students behavior poor at best. The vice principal has a tendancy to act and then inform parents after the fact. He questions students without parental involvement and disciplines without full investigation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

the teachers are awsome at Central they give you help when you need it. i learned a lot there. the extracurricular activities are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

I think this is a terrible school and the kids do not get a good education. The school does not want to deal with any troubled teens and push them onto the next grade instead of teaching them. My son went there for his 6th, 7th and part of his 8th year until I pulled him out and put him into a private school. He could not even do 6th grade work and he was supposedly in the 8th grade. He is now finally able to do 8th grade work. Please don't let them push your child onto the next grade when they are getting failing grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

I am very impressed with this school. The parent/teacher communication is wonderful. It has to have the best teaching staff in the city of Kokomo. My daughter will be an 8th grader this year and has loved every minute she's spent there. It has good kids and the teaching staff and administrative staff stays on top of them to see that they stay that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

This school has great teachers, good staff my child has been to many kokomo schools and this is the best one shes been to.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "F".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 72%
Black 13% 12%
Multiracial 12% 4%
Hispanic 4% 10%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A46%
Special education 21%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Holly Herrera
Fax number
  • (765) 454-7007
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

303 East Superior Street
Kokomo, IN 46901
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 454-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kokomo Academy
Kokomo, IN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT