Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a teacher
"Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more." -Luke 12:48 Central Catholic's mission places emphasis on developing responsible Christians through fostering spiritual, intellectual and social balance in the lives of students and the entire Central Catholic community. Vision statement: He shepherds, We shape, They shine. Academic Accomplishments: Top 10 ISTEP School District, 4-Star School, Top 10 for College Readiness, 1-1 Computing, Top 50 Catholic School in Country.

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Central Catholic has provided our children with an excellent faith-based education over the past 14 years. Our children have excelled academically under the superb leadership abilities of the Central Catholic faculty. We have had several children who have needed additional help with their studies. We have found the teachers and administration more than willing to go above and beyond what is expected of any school to help our children succeed. Not only is the academic curriculum diverse and challenging, but the extra-curricular activities are excellent as well. It is so important to our family that faith comes first and is incorporated into every event, from the classroom to the bandroom to the athletic field! We are very pleased that our children are receiving such a well-rounded education and are so proud of the young adults that they have become.


Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Central Catholic is focused on giving our students a Christ inspired education for life. As with anything in life, you get out of it what you put into it. CC is a small school with a relatively low tuition and they do the best they can with it. Parents are encouraged to help improve the student experience both inside the classroom and through a variety of extracurricular activities. Students are always welcome to offer new ideas to the administration. We choose Central Catholic for the focus on Catholic values, academics, and the small school atmosphere.

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My sons are thriving at Central Catholic! Our administrators are strong leaders, the teachers are caring and invested in our students, and parents are involved. The faith formation is the biggest reason for sending our children to the Catholic schools and CC is doing an outstanding job in this area. Beyond the faith component, there is a strong commitment to continuous improvement and great strides are being made in the area of technology especially. Next fall, all students will be equipped with a laptop that will enhance their learning experiences. I couldn't be happier with our choice of the Lafayette Catholic Schools!

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The last of our 4 children will be graduating from Lafayette Central Catholic next month and it is a very bittersweet moment. With a student enrollment of less than 300 in grades 7-12, Lafayette Central Catholic is so much more than just a school. It is a community and a home away from home. Everyone knows everyone else, from teachers to parents to staff and administration and there is genuine care, concern, admiration, encouragement among each of these groups. Because it is such a small school the students can be involved in many varied activities, which is almost unheard of in bigger schools. Being a private school means teacher pay is unfortunately less than that earned by teachers in public schools. This translates to having teachers who are driven by their passion for educating the young men and women who will be our future. Lafayette Central Catholic has been our home away from home for the last 15 years and will be sorely missed.


Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
Central Catholic High School is nice because it is smaller than most area schools. By being small it allows the teachers to be able to spend more time with the students in the classroom. The school's curriculum is college prep which is what most students need today. Religion is a big factor in choosing this school. Morals being taught there I do think helps the students to behave better in and out of the classroom. Most of the student body is involved in some type of athletics or extra curricular activity. This helps the students to be well rounded and to stay focused on positive outlets and make friends. The school lunches are also prepared right in the kitchen. Some schools are using a service the bring in prepared foods.

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Lafayette Central Catholic is exceptional because of many reasons. I will only name a few. First, it keeps it's Catholic identity by offering the sacraments regularly to the students and having Christ present in the new chapel. Second, the Central Catholic community is very close. They pull together in times of crisis and in times of joy. The students, faculty, parents, grandparents, alumni are one family, always looking to help each other and those around them. Also, because Central Catholic is a small school, you know almost every family. This is beneficial because if your student needs any kind of help, you can be sure someone knows about it and will let you know, too.

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
Central Catholic is a postive Christian atmosphere. My children not only learn in a challenging academic environment, but love going to school.


Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
We are in somewhat in a unique position as a family with an 8th grader. This is the first school our student has attended, being previously homeschooled. We were concerned that the students might not be welcoming because of well established friendships and groups. We have found CC greatly open to new students and their families. The academic standards are high. The sports programs are competitive. The staff and teachers are well trained and considerate. The facilities are above par. The administration is forward thinking and open to critique. But without a doubt the single most outstanding attribute of Central Catholic is the ability and desire to incorporate all the students, regardless of backgrounds, into the learning community. CC operates like a good family. Those stronger members intent on helping struggling members. This attitude raises the expectations and academic results of everyone.

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
My son was in public school until we noticed he became withdrawn. I even had a teacher tell me it wasn't her job to worry about the kids during the school day!! WRONG answer! The next school year I placed both my kids in this school system and they have flourished!! Even I don't feel uncomfortable when dealing with parents of their class mates! There is so much open communication, and open door policy that things get better every day! My kids come home happy, and very willing to share their day. It is completely worth it if you want your child to be a happy person in life with skills to actually have a chance as an adult! Best expense ever! I will never give up on this school system!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School
2410 South 9th Street, Lafayette, IN  47909
(765) 474-2496
Last modified Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Central Catholic Jr-Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top