Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Community School

Charter | K-7 | 213 students

 
 

Living in Lafayette

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $71,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

My child has attended NCS for 4 years. Each year the school has failed to pass state minimum standards and failed to help my child grow academically quite miserably. The school is more concerned with social agendas than actual learning. Founded on the Dewey system of learning only gifted self-starters should even consider attending. This school is a failed experiment that should not have tax dollars continue to support the misguided efforts of a staff that is clearly not capable of handling this huge responsibility of educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

We had great expectations for this school, and the staff exceeded those for several years. Sadly, as a result of staffing and administrative changes, our hopes have been dashed. Special education staff seem to have their own agenda, which is often counter to what students need, and a new administrator is cutting 7-8th grades, which is leaving many kids without an option to attend next year, even if they want to return. Instead of growing enrollment, the school is significantly cutting enrollment for next year. While the intention is to return to one building, the move is not fair for older kids, who will no longer be part of the equation. The school's philosophy is indeed very progressive, and although some teachers still live up to that, I fear that the sense of community and individuality that my children found for several years there is now gone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

We have found that this school is a very good alternative to the other offerings in the community. We have experienced what is considered a "great academic school" but at what cost is this pressure on young chldren? Instead of watching our child beg not to go to school at the first school, we see a joyful learner who not only loves school, but actually shares with us what learning is going on in the classroom. My only faults I have with the school at this point: 1) is the split locations 2). I also agree with the clique situation with parents who do a lot for the school. However, I have seen that at just about every school I have experienced. The teachers are very friendly but I have little to no contact with administration. This school HAS to get out of this multi location situation. I anticipate a change with the new director in January. Hopefully this new leader can get through that roadblock that has prevented the move up to this point. I also think once the move is made, enrollment will be at the 350 max. very friendly but I have little to no contact with administration. The soon to be change of leadership is anticipated. The school HAS to get out of this mult
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

I love the teachers in this school! I feel they work hard with the children that attend and help each child feel important and succeed. I couldn't ask for more. As far as the principal leadership... I think there is work to do. Not all children are treated equal as far as disipline and there is favortisim do to children who have parents whom work for the school. I think that needs to be looked into and It shouldn't be an issue other children should have to worry about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I have 2 children who have graduated the school and moved on to one of the most challenging academic environments and they are doing fabulous. They have adjusted socially, have made honor roll, they are playing sports and are involved in clubs and student council. They are succeeding due to the foundation they received at New Community School. They are happy, well adjusted and confident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

this school has changed my son's life. He has received an individualized education. He loves school and I love that I always know what is going on and am always welcome in his school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The school itself is wonderful and they do learn more in the arts and music. But, leadership is lacking. The director is wonderful at maintaining the charter and is very focused on her staff. She doesn't seem to get along very well with the students or the parents that disagree or have frustrations. The adminstrative staff has their hands tied with what they can and cannot do. There really needs to be a person in place that doesn't deal with the charter and can listen to the parents with an unbiased opinion to be able to serve the school and families better. It is also very clickish with some of the older families and those that have been around or do a lot for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Enthusiastic, dedicated, creative teachers inspire students to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

I feel that the school is not living up to its defined goals. In the last year it has nearly doubled in size, and split into to locations. But in the process it seems to have lost sight of its reason for being. Discipline has gotten irrationally strict, programs such as the gifted program never had a meeting. Although the school has talented parent base, and promotes volunteerism, it is nearly all fundraising. Parent input is rejected by the director. The sense of Community is primarily among a small group of long-time staff/parents. Many of the teachers are terrific. But the guidance by the director and board is very weak. Although the school uses the Responsive Classroom philosophy, there is never any real discussion of its tenets, in any meetings/newsletters, etc. The school needs to reevaluate why it exists, if it is just to grow or to educate creatively and effectively.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

This school is one that teaches the whole child. Academics and arts are important. My child has Spanish three times a week, art two times a week and music two times a week. He is now in his 4th year of Spanish and is reading music well. In the 4th grade they are composing! This all along with good academic test scores and exemplary status from the department of education at the state level. Great kids, great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

New Community School has smaller classroom sizes, so there is more one on one individual attention. There is a lot of parent involvement, which creates a real sense of community. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

A warm and nurturing environment for the students; curriculum made for the children and adapted to individual needs; a close community for the kids to grow up in; sophisticated and socially integrated learning...what more could you ask for? The dedication of the staff and parents is amazing, especially when you consider that charter schools get $0 for capital projects: we run on volunteerism!. The creativity and dedication by all who participate in NCS is another valuable lesson for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2007

The school lacks a great deal of basic teaching materials, a huge lack of understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "F".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 72%
Hispanic 13% 10%
Multiracial 9% 4%
Black 2% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A46%
Special education 22%N/A14%
English learners 5%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1904 Elmwood Avenue
Lafayette, IN 47904
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 420-9617

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Saint Boniface School
Lafayette, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT