Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson High School

Public | 9-12 | 1962 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2013

This school rocks! as a junior ive seen the school change alot over the years, and i cant say every change has been a positive one but every change has had a root cause of the younger students being highly disrespectful and idiotic. Id recomend this school to anyone whos focus is academics and sports as the faculty is just amazing. Every teacher puts in their 212% to make the school great. The classes have always been setup, that if you want to succede you will. Honors courses are abundant and ap classes as well. there is just about every sport you could imagine. The music department is just outstanding! The choir directors are amazing, as well as the orchestral director. The head of the wing, also the band director, is not my favorite person but he does a great job. Overall this school has great potential if you choose to embrace it. I find it sad that anyone would say anything bad about this school as the teachers, security and office staff are genuinely nice people that want you to succeed in life, not to mention the great facilities. And before i forget the tech wing, just outstanding. Very high tech, they currently have a laser engraving machine and a host of cnc machines.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2012

I think that jefferson high school is a very good school with lots of oppurtunities for success and nice teachers who will give that extra degree of effort in every thing they do/ teach. I love going to jefferson high school because I never feel left out of activities or socail groups not all of the students are nice but the teachers are, and they do what they can to keep controll of all situations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2011

Lafayette Jefferson High School is a school with great potential and a wide variety of courses for student selection. However, in recent years the students seem to have become a lesser priority around the school. While this is not always true, I feel that sometimes students don't matter much to the faculty. I'm currently a senior at Jeff, graduating in June. Discipline is handled in the opposite of what one would expect. Instead of dealing with the problems, our administrators try to punish the entire student body which raises the level of contempt most hold for the school. Some parts of the building are outdated, but improvements are constantly being made. Jeff is not a bad school as it is commonly made out to be. It just has some simple problems that could easily be solved if politics were removed from the school. I would certainly recommend the school. Most of the teachers are great and I cannot commend them enough for putting up with as much as they do from the students. Our music, arts, sports, and foreign language programs are incredible. I highly suggest taking any of them. There's a large variety of classes and all of the teachers are truly amazing people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

The arts, the music, and the overall compassion and motivation of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

i attend jeff right now and its going downhill. I'm a sophmore. The school is cutting alot of our classes and is losing a lot of teachers. its not fair! just because the eco0nomy is down the first thing they take from is the schools? woww!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2004

I was a student at Jeff from '00-'04. I was a freshman the year that Mr. Bertram became principal, and i think that is on of the reasons that i liked the school so much. I think some of the extra-curricular activities could use some work and new guidance, but i think the school is going in a very good direction and i am glad to have been a student at Jeff.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2004

I was a student at this school during 79-84 and I would rate this school above avg. School was kept up as well not like other schools I have seen. Teachers were great. Mr. Knott was a great teacher.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Jefferson High School takes full advantage of its large enrollment and diverse student population by offering a wide range of courses and activities. Jefferson has won the national Blue Ribbon award twice and continues its tradition of excellence in education. The principal is moving the school toward an academy-structured curriculum. He has also reached out to the community and received private donations to build a new sports complex and performing arts center. The music department is outstanding, with multiple award-winning choirs and bands. The athletics at Jeff are also outstanding, and offer a wide variety of competitive sports. Jeff even has its own student-run radio station. Jefferson's curriculum offers honors classes in subjects like math and English, as well as vocational and technical classes. Students leave Jeff well-prepared to either attend a four-year college or enter the work force. There is a high level of parental involvement and teacher commitment. We have two children currently at Jefferson High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

427 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
27%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

56%

Average SAT score

993

Graduation rate

83.5%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
52%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
40%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.3
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
19
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
65%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 72%
Hispanic 21% 10%
Black 14% 12%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A46%
Special education 21%N/A14%
English learners 11%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1801 South 18th Street
Lafayette, IN 47905
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 772-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oakland High School
Lafayette, IN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT