Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Lafayette, IN
Students enrolled: 1,962
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Lafayette Jeff High School has been recognized by the United States Department of Education as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. The teaching staff and administration have a sincere desire to help each student maximize their potential. In fact, the teaching staff is made up of multiple Presidential Award winners for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and Jeff High School has been recognized by the city and state with numerous Lafayette Chamber of Commerce Golden Apple Award winners / Indiana Gold Star Counseling Award. The facilities at Lafayette Jeff are amazing. Well-equipped library, planetarium, radio/TV center, 25-yard pool, theater which seats 1,273, a 7,000-seat gymnasium, and a 750-seat multipurpose gym. There is also the Rohrman Performing Arts Center including four large rehearsal rooms, dance studio, keyboarding laboratory, and seventeen individual and group practice rooms. Scheumann Football Stadium featuring: Prestige artificial turf, ten-lane track with Mondo surface, state-of-the-art video scoreboard, Musco outdoor lighting, seating capacity of 6,000. Lafayette Jeff High School is truly among the best in the state!

Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 26, 2013
- a student
This school rocks! as a junior ive seen the school change alot over the years, and i cant say every change has been a positive one but every change has had a root cause of the younger students being highly disrespectful and idiotic. Id recomend this school to anyone whos focus is academics and sports as the faculty is just amazing. Every teacher puts in their 212% to make the school great. The classes have always been setup, that if you want to succede you will. Honors courses are abundant and ap classes as well. there is just about every sport you could imagine. The music department is just outstanding! The choir directors are amazing, as well as the orchestral director. The head of the wing, also the band director, is not my favorite person but he does a great job. Overall this school has great potential if you choose to embrace it. I find it sad that anyone would say anything bad about this school as the teachers, security and office staff are genuinely nice people that want you to succeed in life, not to mention the great facilities. And before i forget the tech wing, just outstanding. Very high tech, they currently have a laser engraving machine and a host of cnc machines.


Jefferson High School 5

Posted March 05, 2012
- a student
I think that jefferson high school is a very good school with lots of oppurtunities for success and nice teachers who will give that extra degree of effort in every thing they do/ teach. I love going to jefferson high school because I never feel left out of activities or socail groups not all of the students are nice but the teachers are, and they do what they can to keep controll of all situations.

Jefferson High School 4

Posted March 24, 2011
- a student
Lafayette Jefferson High School is a school with great potential and a wide variety of courses for student selection. However, in recent years the students seem to have become a lesser priority around the school. While this is not always true, I feel that sometimes students don't matter much to the faculty. I'm currently a senior at Jeff, graduating in June. Discipline is handled in the opposite of what one would expect. Instead of dealing with the problems, our administrators try to punish the entire student body which raises the level of contempt most hold for the school. Some parts of the building are outdated, but improvements are constantly being made. Jeff is not a bad school as it is commonly made out to be. It just has some simple problems that could easily be solved if politics were removed from the school. I would certainly recommend the school. Most of the teachers are great and I cannot commend them enough for putting up with as much as they do from the students. Our music, arts, sports, and foreign language programs are incredible. I highly suggest taking any of them. There's a large variety of classes and all of the teachers are truly amazing people.

Jefferson High School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
The arts, the music, and the overall compassion and motivation of the teachers.


Jefferson High School 2

Posted May 03, 2010
- a student
i attend jeff right now and its going downhill. I'm a sophmore. The school is cutting alot of our classes and is losing a lot of teachers. its not fair! just because the eco0nomy is down the first thing they take from is the schools? woww!

Jefferson High School 5

Posted November 24, 2004
- a student
I was a student at Jeff from '00-'04. I was a freshman the year that Mr. Bertram became principal, and i think that is on of the reasons that i liked the school so much. I think some of the extra-curricular activities could use some work and new guidance, but i think the school is going in a very good direction and i am glad to have been a student at Jeff.

Jefferson High School 5

Posted April 15, 2004
- a student
I was a student at this school during 79-84 and I would rate this school above avg. School was kept up as well not like other schools I have seen. Teachers were great. Mr. Knott was a great teacher.


Jefferson High School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
Jefferson High School takes full advantage of its large enrollment and diverse student population by offering a wide range of courses and activities. Jefferson has won the national Blue Ribbon award twice and continues its tradition of excellence in education. The principal is moving the school toward an academy-structured curriculum. He has also reached out to the community and received private donations to build a new sports complex and performing arts center. The music department is outstanding, with multiple award-winning choirs and bands. The athletics at Jeff are also outstanding, and offer a wide variety of competitive sports. Jeff even has its own student-run radio station. Jefferson's curriculum offers honors classes in subjects like math and English, as well as vocational and technical classes. Students leave Jeff well-prepared to either attend a four-year college or enter the work force. There is a high level of parental involvement and teacher commitment. We have two children currently at Jefferson High School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson High School
1801 South 18th Street, Lafayette, IN  47905
(765) 772-4700
Last modified Jefferson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top