Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John L Mcculloch Junior High School 2

Posted May 02, 2013
- a teacher
They implement harsh discipline policies that don't work. Classroom management at McCulloch means yelling, threatening, shaming, and disapproving. They don't recognize students as people or as individuals and a lot of students feel bad about coming to a school where they're not supported. The school and the school system could make more efforts to understand and address the real life issues of disadvantaged students. This school needs to recognize the racial and other intolerances that pervade the school and take some initiative to EDUCATE students, staff, parents, and the community about bullying prevention.

John L Mcculloch Junior High School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


John L Mcculloch Junior High School 5

Posted November 03, 2008
- a student
I am a student here at McCulloch and i dont think that it is a bad school at all the teachers are real kind and helpful even though they can seem really mean at times.

John L Mcculloch Junior High School 5

Posted October 04, 2006
- a former student
You guys do a great job at mcculloch do your best and keep tring! stefani markowski

John L Mcculloch Junior High School 2

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I would not recommend this school to anyone, especially if your child is the type of child that gets bullied at all. My child is of athletic stature and tall for his age and still has to put up with bullying and snide remarks every day. the time between classes has been cut to help control the hallway problems, so now there isn't enough time to go to the bathroom in between classes and a lot of teachers won't give passes. (I wonder why? Discipline problems maybe!) The teachers seem to be trying their best but the principle himself seems petty about certain things. He insists that the students call him 'Dr', correcting them in a rude manner when they call him Mr. by mistake. All of this initiated from the fact that some of the students pride themselves in being trouble- makers and interrupting the flow of education. Thank you all!
1 person found this helpful


John L Mcculloch Junior High School 4

Posted October 06, 2005
- a parent
I would like to say that I have had 2 children attend McCulloch and I wouldn't have sent them to any other school. McCulloch has wonderful teachers and not to mention that several of the teachers have been teaching at McCulloch for close to 30 years or more. Yes, there may be discipline problems at McCulloch but go to any other school and check their discipline background and I guarantee you will find the same problems there. Another plus, drive past McCulloch and look around, our school is beautiful, you don't see alot of trash in the yards and the yards are very well kept. We also have our own news channel which is called 'WMMS' where the kids get the daily news. Those of us involved with McCulloch take pride in our school.
1 person found this helpful

John L Mcculloch Junior High School 2

Posted July 18, 2005
- a parent
I'm so glad to have moved away from this school district. McCulloch has some great teachers, but the overall atmosphere make it a poor learning environment. Students bully each other, 'talk trash' in the hallways, and repeatedly disrupt classes with no consequence except In School Suspension (Prison Training). The place is dark inside and some areas of the building smell awful. Gym class was the classic nightmare for my son. It seems like there's an undeclared war between the students and the administration, with the teachers usually on the side of the administration. Everybody's on the defensive, with little sense of community, unity, respect, or responsiveness on either side. And the school seems to have the assumption that parents just don't care. Some huge changes need to take place at this school.
1 person found this helpful

John L Mcculloch Junior High School 5

Posted February 13, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John L Mcculloch Junior High School
3528 South Washington Street, Marion, IN  46953
(765) 674-6917
Last modified John L Mcculloch Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John L Mcculloch Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top