Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Geist Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter has been at Geist Montessori Academy since the beginning of her 3rd grade year, 2010, and is now in 8th grade. We are thankful every day that she has this school to attend. It's so amazing that we have a tuition-free Montessori school as an option for her. Just tonight her grandmother commented on what a blessing it has been and how positive the environment is every time she enters the school. She noticed that the students conducted themselves well voluntarily as opposed to having discipline maintained by having it thrust upon them. Parent involvement is high, which has a very positive impact as well. Often there are more chaperones for a field trip than are needed and all school events are well attended. There are often opportunities for parents to help out that do not require them to be at the school (can be done at home), which allows working parents to participate/help as well. All of these factors and many more work together to provide the students and their families with a unique feeling of community.

Geist Montessori Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Our family is so grateful to Ms. Deb. She has a passion for teaching and her students. She genuinely cares about the well-being of our son and we couldnt have been happier to have her as our son's teacher for the last 3 years


Geist Montessori Academy 4

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Our son started GMA in the first grade and is now in 6th. It was a rough start with the teacher turnover, but we have been fortunate to have the greatest teacher for the last three years. She teaches leadership skills and challenges him academically. The kindergarten teachers are amazing and i have been impressed with my other son's current lower el teacher.

Geist Montessori Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Lori and Ms. Sarah wonderful teachers and have helped my daughter enjoy school more and more each day.

Geist Montessori Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
My children do well here because they are able to work at their level without having to wait for the rest of the class to catch up with them. Alternatively, if they need more time on something, it will be given instead of moving on without mastering the material. We also don't deal with judgement here. My children don't have to worry if they are wearing the latest and greatest or else be ridiculed like you find in nearby public schools. Acceptance and respect is taught early on.


Geist Montessori Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is extremely shy and struggles to engage with peers and teachers. In the couple months she has been there she had made friends and come out of her shell. She has enjoyed learning new things and seems to learn quickly the montessori way. Looking forward to seeing her progress even more.

Geist Montessori Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
Our son comes home actually talking about his day and things he had learned. Other schools I just got, " It was great" so to me that is effective teaching and actual learning!

Geist Montessori Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
The students are respectful of the new ones and are always willing to help them learn new things.


Geist Montessori Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a community member
Geist Montessori has been the best decision our family has ever made. The teachers are kind, caring, and work with each and every child at their own pace and academic ability. This is a great place for children to attend. I don't know why anyone would choose any other school.

Geist Montessori Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Learn about other cultures. The class is varied in the abilities of each student so children are more aware of the different children around them. They are shown respect and are included despite their disabilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Geist Montessori Academy
13942 East 96th Street, McCordsville, IN  46055
(317) 335-1158
Last modified Geist Montessori Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Geist Montessori Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. Top