Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


Barker Middle School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a parent
Our 4th child is starting Barker this fall, and we couldn't be more excited. This school is an excellent education experience. Students are encouraged and supported to be and do the best they can. The STEM curriculum is rigorous and the implementation of a credit system has been long overdue. Keep up the awesome work Barker!

Barker Middle School 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
A great school with great staff and students! Appreciate the focus on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) and opportunities for gifted/talented students. Our daughter has had a wonderful experience here and we highly recommend.


Barker Middle School 3

Posted September 30, 2008
- a parent
We're off to a bumpy start in 6th grade. Kids are treated like little prisoners. Can't use the bathroom. Must carry library books in a ziplock bag or get a detention from the reading teacher. Not allowed to go to locker and retrieve items. Must carry morning stuff all morning and afternoon stuff all afternoon....this includes your gym clothes and cannot carry in a backpack. No one seems to care that these 11 year olds are new at changing classes and may be unorganized for a few weeks. We're not impressed.

Barker Middle School 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a community member
I am a close relative of a student at Barker Middle School and there have been nothing but problems since the beginning. Classes are undersupervised, most teachers disinterested in educating, and during one recent incident where a fight broke out among some students, the teacher simply ran from the classroom instead of trying to restore order. Private school for us next year and good riddance to Barker Middle School.

Barker Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
I would rate this school a10 because i think that it is a very good school because only thing the people is worried about is the kids saftey and their work and that is why!


Barker Middle School 5

Posted December 19, 2007
- a parent
A great school, always showing improvement, has a welcoming and safe environment.

Barker Middle School 4

Posted May 26, 2006
- a teacher
I found Barker Middle School to be a great place for learning this year. It certainly faces the many challenges that other public schools have throughout the country, but I feel the staff and administration had a realistic aproach to meeting the varied needs of the students. I like the fact that students were continually made to feel worthwhile and valued. I applaud the efforts made by all staff. The 7th and 8th graders have gender pure classes and I think this helps the kids focus more on academics and less on socializing. Good job Barker!

Barker Middle School 2

Posted June 06, 2005
- a parent
Barker Middle School is a prime example of the numerous problems in the Michigan City Area Schools. Many of the teachers do not pursue the goal of teaching the children with results of knowledge received. The Principal and Assisitant/Vice Principal need to be replaced. They are not in the building to ensure the safety and rights of all the children. They do not want parents in the building, nor do most of the teachers. They blame all problems on the parents but do not work openly and honestly with the parents. Once a child has made a wrong choice, then the adults in the school flex their power muscle and show the child and the parent who is in charge. The concern is not for the child. The concern is for the adults in the school and their rights.


Barker Middle School 1

Posted February 18, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barker Middle School
319 Barker Rd, Michigan City, IN  46360
(219) 873-2057
Last modified Barker Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barker Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.