Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lake Hills Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
One other parent who made the PTA meetings tolerable! She knows who she is! She feels the same

Lake Hills Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
They do not encourage students to embrace a child in a group setting or encourage to step out of their regular friends


Lake Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
They place what they deem as children who perform low all in one class. It seems to me that they would place a mixture in each class to give students some aspiration

Lake Hills Elementary School 2

Posted July 27, 2016
- a community member
I am so very perplexed as to how in the world this school scored an 8! This school is by far one of the most biased schools in Indiana! They show a penchant to certain students while others fall by the wayside! The principal should really step down along with some of the teachers who clearly have worked beyond retirement. The PTA is run by a tyrant and a few choice minions! This school is WHACK!

Lake Hills Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2015
- a community member
I have substituted at this school a few times and I have to say the discipline is absolutely horrible. Students are rude and disrespectful, especially in second and fifth grades. One particular student in fifth grade even cursed out the principal. There is a great amount of bullying among the students and the teachers spend much of the day yelling at them. I'm also a parent and had thought of sending my five year old here for first grade, but after what I've seen, I'm changing my plans. The teachers do the best they can, but their hands are tied when it comes to discipline. The principal seems to dismiss many of the problems as "kids being kids" and having a poor home life. It's too bad that things have gotten so far out of hand.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a teacher
Our school takes challenges head on! We care about our students and their families, and we expect all students to meet high standards. We have dedicated teachers, support staff, volunteers, and families that strive to make our school a fabulous place to learn and grow.

Lake Hills Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I have substituted at many schools in Michigan City and other areas. Unlike the non-magnet elementary schools, two of the elementary magnet schools (Pine and Lake Hills), lacked features that are necessities for every public school: efficient & effective administrative procedures for communication and student behavior. Also, these schools lack the organized Special Ed resources that I found at non-magnet schools. There were no noticeable behavioral plans for students with serious emotional difficulties. While carrying out sophisticated projects that met the school's specialty, many students with special needs were bouncing off the walls and it was unclear what referral procedures the administration expected. Magnet or not, the administration can't "reinvent the wheel" in terms of basic procedures for student needs. Are funds that should be used toward special-needs being channeled into the magnet specialty? I observed excellent dedication among Pine's teachers, who regularly have to meet ridiculous expectations in a disorganized environment. No teacher can meet all mandated expectations in most Title I environments. They have to learn the ropes and pick their battles.

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a teacher
My school has amazing, dedicated teachers and staff. We are a STEM school, committed to moving are kids forward in this ever changing world.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
This is a top notch school. The teachers are wonderful, caring individuals. I have never met a more passionate group of educators. The students & parents of this school I have spoken to all say the same thing. This city is lucky to have this school and the folks that are a part of it.

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a teacher
Lake Hills STEM Magnet school is an excellent school that reaches many children in our community. Our school has an integrate STEM curriculum. The students here at Lake Hills are learning 21st century skills that will help them succeed in the future. They are reading about specific science concepts, writing about science concepts and doing hands on activities that create real life connections to their academics. We not only offer students a meaningful academic experience during the day but our school also has Science clubs after school and lunch and learns for students during their lunch.

Nearby schools

Lake Hills Elementary School
201 Ferguson Road, Michigan City, IN  46360
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (219) 873-2105
Last modified Lake Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top