Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a teacher
Our school takes challenges head on! We care about our students and their families, and we expect all students to meet high standards. We have dedicated teachers, support staff, volunteers, and families that strive to make our school a fabulous place to learn and grow.

Lake Hills Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I have substituted at many schools in Michigan City and other areas. Unlike the non-magnet elementary schools, two of the elementary magnet schools (Pine and Lake Hills), lacked features that are necessities for every public school: efficient & effective administrative procedures for communication and student behavior. Also, these schools lack the organized Special Ed resources that I found at non-magnet schools. There were no noticeable behavioral plans for students with serious emotional difficulties. While carrying out sophisticated projects that met the school's specialty, many students with special needs were bouncing off the walls and it was unclear what referral procedures the administration expected. Magnet or not, the administration can't "reinvent the wheel" in terms of basic procedures for student needs. Are funds that should be used toward special-needs being channeled into the magnet specialty? I observed excellent dedication among Pine's teachers, who regularly have to meet ridiculous expectations in a disorganized environment. No teacher can meet all mandated expectations in most Title I environments. They have to learn the ropes and pick their battles.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a teacher
My school has amazing, dedicated teachers and staff. We are a STEM school, committed to moving are kids forward in this ever changing world.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
This is a top notch school. The teachers are wonderful, caring individuals. I have never met a more passionate group of educators. The students & parents of this school I have spoken to all say the same thing. This city is lucky to have this school and the folks that are a part of it.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a teacher
Lake Hills STEM Magnet school is an excellent school that reaches many children in our community. Our school has an integrate STEM curriculum. The students here at Lake Hills are learning 21st century skills that will help them succeed in the future. They are reading about specific science concepts, writing about science concepts and doing hands on activities that create real life connections to their academics. We not only offer students a meaningful academic experience during the day but our school also has Science clubs after school and lunch and learns for students during their lunch.
1 person found this helpful


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
We consider ourselves very Lucky to have our child attend Lake Hills. Being a S.T.E.M. school, I feel like it offers a different learning experience that enhances education development. The school also has the support of Lubeznik Center of the arts and Purdue University which offer after school programs to the students for FREE. As a parent I can say I Love Lake Hills Elementary for the opportunities they have given to our child.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. The staff is attentive and caring and the principal is very experienced and loves kids. My child loves the school!
1 person found this helpful

Lake Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Mullen is a great school but is now known as Lakehills Elementary and the teachers work so hard at helping kids and talking time out to help when they are needed most
1 person found this helpful


Lake Hills Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2008
- a community member
Mullen's learning community consistently makes Annual Yearly Progress by meeting state ISTEP test score requirements. The teachers work together as grade level teams to insure individual student success and deliver the school system's recommended research-based curriculums.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Hills Elementary School
201 Ferguson Road, Michigan City, IN  46360
(219) 873-2105
Last modified Lake Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top