Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


Lake Hills Elementary School 3

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I have substituted at many schools in Michigan City and other areas. Unlike the non-magnet elementary schools, two of the elementary magnet schools (Pine and Lake Hills), lacked features that are necessities for every public school: efficient & effective administrative procedures for communication and student behavior. Also, these schools lack the organized Special Ed resources that I found at non-magnet schools. There were no noticeable behavioral plans for students with serious emotional difficulties. While carrying out sophisticated projects that met the school's specialty, many students with special needs were bouncing off the walls and it was unclear what referral procedures the administration expected. Magnet or not, the administration can't "reinvent the wheel" in terms of basic procedures for student needs. Are funds that should be used toward special-needs being channeled into the magnet specialty? I observed excellent dedication among Pine's teachers, who regularly have to meet ridiculous expectations in a disorganized environment. No teacher can meet all mandated expectations in most Title I environments. They have to learn the ropes and pick their battles.

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a teacher
My school has amazing, dedicated teachers and staff. We are a STEM school, committed to moving are kids forward in this ever changing world.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
This is a top notch school. The teachers are wonderful, caring individuals. I have never met a more passionate group of educators. The students & parents of this school I have spoken to all say the same thing. This city is lucky to have this school and the folks that are a part of it.

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a teacher
Lake Hills STEM Magnet school is an excellent school that reaches many children in our community. Our school has an integrate STEM curriculum. The students here at Lake Hills are learning 21st century skills that will help them succeed in the future. They are reading about specific science concepts, writing about science concepts and doing hands on activities that create real life connections to their academics. We not only offer students a meaningful academic experience during the day but our school also has Science clubs after school and lunch and learns for students during their lunch.

Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
We consider ourselves very Lucky to have our child attend Lake Hills. Being a S.T.E.M. school, I feel like it offers a different learning experience that enhances education development. The school also has the support of Lubeznik Center of the arts and Purdue University which offer after school programs to the students for FREE. As a parent I can say I Love Lake Hills Elementary for the opportunities they have given to our child.


Lake Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. The staff is attentive and caring and the principal is very experienced and loves kids. My child loves the school!

Lake Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Mullen is a great school but is now known as Lakehills Elementary and the teachers work so hard at helping kids and talking time out to help when they are needed most

Lake Hills Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2008
- a community member
Mullen's learning community consistently makes Annual Yearly Progress by meeting state ISTEP test score requirements. The teachers work together as grade level teams to insure individual student success and deliver the school system's recommended research-based curriculums.


Lake Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Lake Hills Elementary School 2

Posted July 27, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

201 Ferguson Road
Michigan City, IN 46360

School website
(219) 873-2105
(219) 873-2166

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Hills Elementary School
201 Ferguson Road, Michigan City, IN  46360
(219) 873-2105
Last modified Lake Hills Elementary School is a public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.