Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


Fred J Hums Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2012
- a parent
As a Hums parent for 7 years now, I have to say Hums is the best. They are so blessed to have teachers and parents that are so willing to go all out to help the children succeed. Hums is a non-Title 1 school and struggles to provide the same things that Title 1 schools are able to provide their school through funding. Without the PTA, there would be a lot of things lacking in the school. It s awesome to see how selfless these parents and teachers are to help fill that void. Who wouldn't want to go to a school with such caring and involved parents and teachers! To the comment posted about the PTA on Sept 8, 2011, the PTA might seem like everything to the school because it s not a Title 1 school. As stated previously, PTA picks up the slack the best it can. It s unfortunate it is this way, but you can't just stand back and watch your child not get the same opportunities because we are above average on the poverty scale. PTA welcomes any parent that wants to be involved in their child's education. Every year at Open House there are signup sheets for parents to get involved in school activities. Don't complain! Sign up and get involved! Volunteer to make a difference too!

Fred J Hums Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a parent
Wonderful school. The children, teachers, and parents are great. The school is also well kept and maintained. I feel truly blessed that my children can go to a school in which everyone is so focused on learning and development. I really can't say enough good things about Hums. I love it. And I don't at all agree with the PTA comment below. The PTA works their butts off for no pay and no respect. Things could always be better, but they do a heck of a job.


Fred J Hums Elementary School 2

Posted September 08, 2011
- a parent
Hums has great test scores--i will give it that. If that's all you care about, this might be the school for you. However, in other ways, it is so incredibly disappointing. The PTA is *everything* here, it runs the school, and it is run by a handful of moms who are straight out of the "Mean Girls" movie. Most of the parents are rude and unfriendly unless you happen to be a member of their clique. As for teachers, it is like most schools, there are good ones and not so good ones.

Fred J Hums Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fred J Hums Elementary School 3

Posted April 19, 2008
- a community member
This school lacks students and Twin Branch always reals the smart ones in with their higher learning program called DEEP. Losing students happens a lot here. If they had a DEEP program, they may have more students. This school is very good and raises amazing people though. On a scale from 1 to 10, I'd give it a 7.


Fred J Hums Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fred J Hums Elementary School 5

Posted June 08, 2004
- a parent
My son has gone to this school for 5 years and so far, we are very pleased. Most of the teachers know ALL the students by name. They have a great PTA program. The only thing they are lacking is a good music/art program (this was removed due to lack of state funding).

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fred J Hums Elementary School
3208 Harrison Road, Mishawaka, IN  46544
(574) 254-3800
Last modified Fred J Hums Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fred J Hums Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews.