Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


Elm Road Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
I find the teachers are creative and attentive. They really get to know who their students are and how they learn. Many teachers have provided supplies to the children and paid for them out of their own pocket. I am thrilled that my children are in a school that provides them with such a wonderful environment. I especially find the 1st grade teachers to be excellent and dedicated to what they do.

Elm Road Elementary School 3

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
My children have both been attending Elm Road since kindergarden. I adore the teachers. However, I have a serious problem with the principal. She doesnt seem to share the vision of "synergy" that the rest of the staff have shared. I have made attempts to include her in some of the issues we have had stuggling financially (like most people these days) and it seems like it made things worse, that I shared such personal information about our home struggle. I have been left feeling as if we are on some sort of "dont both list". My family and I have been very active in the education of my son and daughter and we have even in the past had to "attend" while they were in school. It breaks my heart to write this review, because we all had such high expectations of our experience here, and I feel as if from the moment we regestered until now that we were harrassed because we dont belong. Its a nice school. Its just not very welcoming if you dont have the means.


Elm Road Elementary School 3

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
I agree about the office staff. I have had several communication problems in getting messages to the right people. I adore the school, the teachers, location and the other families,but the office staff can leave you feeling like you have been chastised for calling in and asking questions.

Elm Road Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
I do not particularly like Elm Road the office staff needs an attitude adjustment.....they are rude and snotty. And the discipline is horrible.

Elm Road Elementary School 3

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
I have three children who transferred into Elm Road School from a school in Stafford Virginia. We were very happy with the Stafford school system and wary of the transfer. I am happy to say Elm Road has made our children feel very welcome. Never had a problem with the office staff answering a question or putting me through to the teacher for answers. Two of my children also have IEP's and I felt the staff was very confident when we had our move-in meeting. I would recommend Elm Road to anyone.


Elm Road Elementary School 3

Posted March 23, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends Elm Road and loves it. We feel the environment is so so. The discipline is spotty and the office staff is completely rude. I have never felt well served by anyone in their office. The principle does share time with another school. The system is going to close and consolidate two school over the next year to two years. I would be sure that if you are going to send your child to Elm Road that you have the time to be PTA involved and that you are active in your child's classroom.

Elm Road Elementary School 1

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
My older son attended Elm Road and hated it. He has an IEP and never once during an IEP meeting was a positive thing said about my son. However, he is at Grissom now, and they mix both positive as well as negative with the review. My younger son is now in kindergarten at Elm Road and it is nothing but negative reports from the kindergarten teacher on a weekly basis. Also, the office staff can be rude at times and if you call to ask something, they act as if they re being put out by it. Also, there is only one principal between 2 schools (Elm and Madison). For the amount of taxes I pay per year to the school, I would think they could afford one principal per school. Also, they bring in full size bus to pick up one handicapped student each. Waste of money.

Elm Road Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Elm Road Elementary School 4

Posted February 17, 2009
- a student
Supportive and caring teachers. Not just doing their job but loving it!

Elm Road Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school! The principal and office staff always knows who I am and who my children are. The teachers and aid staff are committed to helping our children to be the best they can be. The is a lot of parent volenteers and a very supportive PTA that provide a lot of extras for the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elm Road Elementary School
59400 Elm Road, Mishawaka, IN  46544
(574) 259-3743
Last modified Elm Road Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elm Road Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.