Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morristown Jr-Sr High School

Public | 6-12 | 361 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 9, 2013

This school is WONDERFUL! I've been a life-long resident of Morristown. I graduated from MHS. My kids have graduated from MHS. Now my granddaughter and my two grandsons attend MHS. Historically, speaking, this school has been at it's best over the last 6 years than it has before then. I'm not sure why but around 6 years ago we got a new principal. And then some of the "old" veteran teachers retired. He hired excellent replacements. The new teachers are great! The school has excelled with upgrades in the guidance department and athletic department as well. I brag on our school to anyone that will listen. My Waldron friends would like to shut me up! LOL I tell them to just move over here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

I love this school! The principal of this school is really on the ball and he cares about our kids! I've never had a principal so willing to work so hard or go the extra mile like this principal does. Several times he could have just done his job to the letter but because he cares so much he has helped my kids enjoy school more and he has worked hard to support the live arts beyond what he has accomplished for us academically. Before he came, our school was consistently rated in the bottom on standardized test scores. Not so now. Now we are rated among the top performing schools in east central Indiana. The teachers like and respect him and our students find him caring and approachable. How did we get so lucky and how can we keep him around for at least for a few more years until my kids graduate? Our school board members are smart enough to spot great talent when they see it. I hope they keep him and our band director around for a long, long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

The teachers are wonderful and the school has great basic education. However, I think the school counseling is myopic and doesn't stress the importance of the AP programs enough to get the students ready for college. Very limited extra-curricular activities are offered. The principal is insolent, arrogant, and patronizing to parents and their concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We would like to see Morristown Jr Sr High school continue to strive for academic excellence. As part of this we ask for transparency in achievement level testing especially as it relates to Core 40 requirements and proficiency as listed on the school website. In addition to this we would ask for an updated Guidance webpage with current school, college and career information available. The current guidance site has been "underconstruction" since 2009 and does not reflect " excellence in every endeavor" . Hats off for the pursuance of each instructor, student, principal and parent toward our goal of effective learning.


Posted May 11, 2010

I'm very pleased with this school. The staff and students are like family. It's a safe place for my kids to go to school and I know they are going to receive very good instruction from the teachers. My kids can join or belong to about anything they decide to be a member of and actively participate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Morristown High School needs to expand the AP program and have a more pro active guidance department with emphasis on 4 year universities and colleges less emphasis on Tech programs. I would like to see the school use an internet program like 'Blackboard' and have 100% of teachers make use of the program. Not having a list of tutors is unacceptable and should be rectified prior to next school year. Active participation in PSAT, SAT, ACT testing is a must and should be supported by the PTSA perhaps with a practice test session. All students should be encouraged to participate. Leadership needs to work toward surpassing current scores and producing students ready to work and achieve at post secondary institutions, We must be competitive with other schools so our students gain admission,


Posted May 5, 2010

I agree. This is a wonderful school. They have a strong math department and language arts department. People care about each other there the way family takes care of each other. Wonder kids! Wonderful staff! Wonderful town! Great place to raise kids! My daughter is not 'another brick in the wall.' She has made friends for life there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My kids have attended Morristown schools for many years. I graduated from MHS! We like it here. It is our second home. I always feel welcomed when I visit the school. I agree with the other parent comments. It is a good place to have you kids. We're happy. Some needed changes are being made that will only make the school better. Go YellowJackets!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

We moved to Morristown. I have a son enrolled in the high school. Best move we ever made! Now he is happy and successful. He has made new friends. Teachers are very good and caring. The principal and office staff are the best we have ever worked with. I tell my friends that they should move to Morristown too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Great Staff! Great Kids! ...and a supportive community. It is a very good place to raise your children. I have had nothing but good experiences with this school. The staff knows my kids and our family by name. Because of that, they know how to meet my children's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I think Morristown Junior/Senior High School is a great place to have my son and daughter. They truly care about my children and contact me when they feel that they are not performing up to their abilities. The teaching is first rate and the student behavior is very, very good for a public school. I'm please the school's curriculum and extra-curricular activities given it's size. The school scores very well on state tests compared with other schools and it is very competitive athletically. The community is very fortunate to have very good counselors and school administrators that go the extra mile for our kids. We feel that our kids are in very good hands when they go to school. Morristown is also a great little community to rear children. The school system must be one of the best kept secrets in Indiana. We are very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Great place for my kids education. The staff is wonderful from the top down. My kids are cared for and feel safe. The school has a 'family feel' to it. I'm very happy that we still have schools like Morristown in this day and age!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
30%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

65%

Average SAT score

519

Graduation rate

88.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
73%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
35%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
3
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
23
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
65%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 72%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 12%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 960
Morristown, IN 46161
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 763-1221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Saint Michael School
Greenfield, IN





Doe Creek Middle School
New Palestine, IN


Eastern Hancock Middle School
Charlottesville, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT