Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Morristown, IN
Students enrolled: 361

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Morristown Jr-Sr High School 4

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
My boys will be starting school here tomorrow. Does anyone know about the school hours?

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a parent
This school is WONDERFUL! I've been a life-long resident of Morristown. I graduated from MHS. My kids have graduated from MHS. Now my granddaughter and my two grandsons attend MHS. Historically, speaking, this school has been at it's best over the last 6 years than it has before then. I'm not sure why but around 6 years ago we got a new principal. And then some of the "old" veteran teachers retired. He hired excellent replacements. The new teachers are great! The school has excelled with upgrades in the guidance department and athletic department as well. I brag on our school to anyone that will listen. My Waldron friends would like to shut me up! LOL I tell them to just move over here!


Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
I love this school! The principal of this school is really on the ball and he cares about our kids! I've never had a principal so willing to work so hard or go the extra mile like this principal does. Several times he could have just done his job to the letter but because he cares so much he has helped my kids enjoy school more and he has worked hard to support the live arts beyond what he has accomplished for us academically. Before he came, our school was consistently rated in the bottom on standardized test scores. Not so now. Now we are rated among the top performing schools in east central Indiana. The teachers like and respect him and our students find him caring and approachable. How did we get so lucky and how can we keep him around for at least for a few more years until my kids graduate? Our school board members are smart enough to spot great talent when they see it. I hope they keep him and our band director around for a long, long time.

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 3

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
The teachers are wonderful and the school has great basic education. However, I think the school counseling is myopic and doesn't stress the importance of the AP programs enough to get the students ready for college. Very limited extra-curricular activities are offered. The principal is insolent, arrogant, and patronizing to parents and their concerns.

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 3

Posted January 10, 2011
- a community member
We would like to see Morristown Jr Sr High school continue to strive for academic excellence. As part of this we ask for transparency in achievement level testing especially as it relates to Core 40 requirements and proficiency as listed on the school website. In addition to this we would ask for an updated Guidance webpage with current school, college and career information available. The current guidance site has been "underconstruction" since 2009 and does not reflect " excellence in every endeavor" . Hats off for the pursuance of each instructor, student, principal and parent toward our goal of effective learning.


Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
I'm very pleased with this school. The staff and students are like family. It's a safe place for my kids to go to school and I know they are going to receive very good instruction from the teachers. My kids can join or belong to about anything they decide to be a member of and actively participate.

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a community member
Morristown High School needs to expand the AP program and have a more pro active guidance department with emphasis on 4 year universities and colleges less emphasis on Tech programs. I would like to see the school use an internet program like 'Blackboard' and have 100% of teachers make use of the program. Not having a list of tutors is unacceptable and should be rectified prior to next school year. Active participation in PSAT, SAT, ACT testing is a must and should be supported by the PTSA perhaps with a practice test session. All students should be encouraged to participate. Leadership needs to work toward surpassing current scores and producing students ready to work and achieve at post secondary institutions, We must be competitive with other schools so our students gain admission,

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
I agree. This is a wonderful school. They have a strong math department and language arts department. People care about each other there the way family takes care of each other. Wonder kids! Wonderful staff! Wonderful town! Great place to raise kids! My daughter is not 'another brick in the wall.' She has made friends for life there.


Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
My kids have attended Morristown schools for many years. I graduated from MHS! We like it here. It is our second home. I always feel welcomed when I visit the school. I agree with the other parent comments. It is a good place to have you kids. We're happy. Some needed changes are being made that will only make the school better. Go YellowJackets!

Morristown Jr-Sr High School 5

Posted March 13, 2010
- a parent
We moved to Morristown. I have a son enrolled in the high school. Best move we ever made! Now he is happy and successful. He has made new friends. Teachers are very good and caring. The principal and office staff are the best we have ever worked with. I tell my friends that they should move to Morristown too!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morristown Jr-Sr High School
Po Box 960, Morristown, IN  46161
(765) 763-1221
Last modified Morristown Jr-Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Morristown Jr-Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top