Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Munster High School 5

Posted April 14, 2014
- a community member
This is a great school with a lot of activities for many different students. The teachers are dedicated and the academic rigor is impressive. They offer many AP and dual credit courses.

Munster High School 1

Posted April 04, 2014
- a student
horrible, administration sucks, only care about the smartest student, unwillness to listen to student about any problems, lets not forget their corrupt, use their money for unnecessary things. cafeteria is a fire hazard because of amount of student per lunch, even though they had 20 million dollars to build a new football field and Olympic size pool, overall the school system is not as good as you have probably been told.


Munster High School 5

Posted November 29, 2012
- a community member
I attended MHS from 1966 until 1969 when we moved to Florida. It was a great school with many opportunities! Unfortunately, I was a real jerk then with a bad attitude. A couple of times teachers approached me personally to try to help but my attitude got in the way. When I did buckle down and work I got a lot out of it and learned a lot!

Munster High School 5

Posted November 03, 2012
- a parent
Our family is originally from Korea and after completing the MDs at U of Chicago and getting a positions at Community Hospital and IUN, me and my wife decide Munster is our home. School is excellent! My son have no problem in school and academics is challenging and engaging. And large Asian population in school is great for network and support. Our family is accepted by school, community and we are happy! We were hesitated to live in Indiana because of fear of hate but nothing to us good thing! We see more Korean families moving in to take advantage of great schools for good price! We plan to stay for area for a long time. Thank for a nice prosperous town and school!

Munster High School 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a student
MHS provides an unmatched academic and extracurricular experience. The We the People team placed top 10 in the nation for 3 of the past 4 years. DECA competes internationally every year, and many students walk away with top 20 finalist medallions. The band and athletic teams are also top-ranked in the state. The student body is very diverse compared to other Indiana schools. There are many high-quality courses, and graduates have gone on to schools like Yale, Columbia, MIT, Stanford, Caltech, and UChicago.


Munster High School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Because they have EXCELLENT SCIENCE & BIOLOGY teachers!

Munster High School 5

Posted September 06, 2010
- a parent
My children have gotten excellent educations at MHS. The teachers are first-rate. They know their subjects well, set achievable guidelines up front, and are very caring, intelligent people. The AP and honors courses are rigorous and prepared my kids well for college. In some instances, the MHS course was more difficult than the college course! Parents tend to be quite involved with their students and school. The orchestra program seems to be on the weak side, weaker than band and choir- definitely weaker than other local programs.

Munster High School 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Munster High School 3

Posted December 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Munster High School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a student
Great school. We get an amazing education at MHS. I'm sure of that. Why? I know people all around the country in the same grade as me and, while they are in AP classes and I am only in honors, we still seem to use the same books. This means that out honors classes are of the same calibur as other's AP classes. We also have ecellent teachers. They manage to make classes fun as well as very informative. We also have a very wide variety of extracurricular activities to choose from ranging from sports teams such as basketball, football, soccer, swimming, and a state champion hockey team; to clubs based on personal beliefs and charity such as students against destructive decisions and project x; to our many academic teams such as science olympiad, JETS, speech, debate, and our DECA team which is one of the best internationally.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Munster High School
8808 Columbia Avenue, Munster, IN  46321
(219) 836-3200
Last modified Munster High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Munster High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.