Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilbur Wright Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 987 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

To the previous parent, please say why you believe Mr Sopko is a 'bad' principal. You are leaving it very open ended. This is what the school system and state testing is trying to teach them in terms of writing. Don't make a blanket statement without stating a reason for the negative statement. I had a student go through 6-8 grade about 5 years ago and found it to be a great school. All the teachers were wonderful. There were even a few teachers I had back in the 80's that were still there and remembered me. I have a child that will be going to the school next year and do not expect problems, bad teachers or a bad principal. Sometimes it's a 'problem' child that gets in trouble not 'bad' principal/teacher and the parent doesn't want to admit their child does the wrong thing. ALL the schools in the Munster system are great. They hire great support staff, administration and teachers. I would never send my children to another school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

Extremely bad principal. A person like him has no place in education. He should have never been hired as a school principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

This school is an excellent school. It is also the point at which many students who are not familiar with the rigors of a Munster Education start their educational lives in the town after moving into, or most often paying tutition or sneaking into the school system. Many of these students were not prepared at their previous schools and tend to drag down some of the scores (and yes, some native to the system do as well, but not as much!). However, the scores are still among the highest in the area middle schools and the school receives many of the highest accolades from the state. While moving to an area with excellent schools can help your child greatly, it will not TEACH your child! Parents have to remain active in your children's education! Munster schools are great, but they are not magical! Your child WILL fall through the cracks if there is a lack of support from parents who think that moving to Munster automatically will make their child a better student. While there are other great school systems in the area, I would not have sent my child anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

What a huge disappointment! The academics are substandard. My child easily attained all A's with little effort and very little homework. The athletics offered are a joke. Teams are not chosen by skill, but by social networks within the school. The programs used with the laptops are terrible!! Too much money was spent on the football field and aquatic center. Now the music programs may be cut? Would not recommend this school system any longer. Do your child a favor and stay away!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

This school is not what I expected for academics. My child knee more amd dpoke better before transferring to WWMS. The principal is never available and the assistant principal is very bias. Also , the school is not consistent eith discpline. The school is quick to give out detentions for tardiness, but when a causion stole some items out of my child book bag...absolutely no actions were taken.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

Excellent, excellent, and excellent school! The academics are rigorous and what I would expect out of the Munster school system. I am not rich and my child received all the guidance and attention that she needed. The parents who complain about the lack of attention towards their children are usually those who don't show up to any conferences or transfer from other districts such as Hammond or Lake Central and expect their kids to gain knowledge solely from being in Munster. NEWSFLASH, it takes hard work! A good environment i a good thing, but not the only way to help achieve success. Overall, just a great school system!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

this is my school and it is definetely a 5 star worthy one :) I love it


Posted August 9, 2010

I like this school. It's really easy even on the honors track. It's not rigorous and the homework load is light. It's so much easier than Frank Hammond Elementary School.


Posted October 26, 2009

A quality school but if your kid is not in the honors track--good luck! From my experiences, I've seen many kids who are hard workers, get A's, want to be challenged but unfortunately are a low priority at Administration Bldg with Maureen Stafford - Kids might still get their A's but do not expect a lot of writing assignments in HS. Only the Language Honors track will get the best, more challenging teachers. They do offer a 'high' track for math. This allows the kids to do math one year ahead (same as honors) but at a slower pace. I think the same should be done for the Language department at both the MS and HS. The parents' in Munster definitely contribute positively to the school's overall reputation. We spend a lot of time and $ getting outside help by tutoring our kids to keep them college and grade competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

I cannot stand this school! My son has a problem with math and the state was called in to evaluate him. He was promised certain accomadations regarding math, and no one has followed it. I feel no one cares and I can't wait to get out of this school. My son deserves better, and it's not this school. They cater only to kids whose parents are involved, have money, and then the families that are blue collar, forget it! It's who you know!! Not a quality school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

WWMS is a fantastic school. The teachers are all very helpful and care a great deal about the success of the children. The honors track is outstanding! Kudos to the administration for providing an environment that encourages great things for all children;honors, regular, special education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I really like going to WWMS. The teachers there are great and the kids are pretty cool to, although there are some weird kids, everyone is pretty nice to each other. I am amazed to learn that our basic classes are Honors classes in other schools. I am really enjoying 7th grade and I don't want this year to end.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2007

My 3 children have attended WWMS I am so very impressed with the leadership of the administration. I have seen very young teachers grow into professionals and the leadership and support they receive from their principal is apparent. Parent concerns are always addressed. There is also a genuine concern for the student both intellectually and socially. Middle School years can be tough but are made easier in such an environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

Some of the teacher's methods are archaic and out of date...if you have an innovative indepedent student...they are not supportive of trying to finds ways for the stimulation of such a child. Standarized tests are the main focus not the student. Socially, it's been a nightmare for my eighth-grader. I cannot wait until May to be out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

The level of teacher participation is next to none. We have been at this school for three years and it just gets worse with each passing year. There have been so many inappropriate comments made to my child and other children by teachers, office staff and counselors. I have a whole new outlook on teachers and school systems because of it. I urge parents if you are dealing with this school system to talk to your children. Find out what is really going on. I could go on forever. If you aren't a 'chosen one' forget in this school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

This is an excellent school. My child is currently enrolled there. The effort made by the teachers for my childs success is something I have never seen before. My child was not doing well at the begining of the school year and without even so much as consulting me the counslor and the teacher took it upon themselves to make sure he got back on track. They didn't need to be told by me how to do there jobs. There are plenty of extracurricular activities for them to get involved with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

This school has extracurricular activities, but are very clickish. The Parents are involved, and they blame low state scores blamed on the special education children. Homework hotlines very often connects to the wrong boxes or are not updated frequently. If you ask teachers to help you get your children more on task, for example, to please have a list of assignments (since you can't get it off the hotline) for you to pick up so you know your child is doing the work in and out of the educational environment, you are told they can't do that because their are too many children in the school and in their class and what if everyone wanted to do that? Halls are noisy and filled with swearing. Certain children are ignored when they act out and no effort is made to teach them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2005

WWMS is an excellent school. it may seem expensive or somewhat costly but it is worth every cent. my children were very pleased with every part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

310 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 72%
Hispanic 21% 10%
Asian 7% 2%
Black 7% 12%
Multiracial 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A46%
Special education 11%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8650 Columbia Avenue
Munster, IN 46321
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 836-6260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT