Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Munster, IN
Students enrolled: 580

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Great school and great staff. Teachers are dedicated, making themselves available during off-peak hours; and they respond quickly to emails.

Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
St. Thomas More is a wonderful school with a dedicated, caring staff. As an educator, I am impressed by the academics as well as the atmosphere.


Saint Thomas More School 1

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Our experience at this school has been awful. Some of the teachers and principal are unprofessional and play favorites. If you do not fit within their mold, they treat your child like a second class citizen. The postings before do not seem to accurately depict what children and parents really feel. You are wasting your money and your child will grow up with low self esteem when they get through with them, if you send them to this school. You are better off investing in a house in Munster and sending them to a Munster public school. Teachers here are not held accountable and need to understand that they have a job because of the hard-earned money that parents pay. Private schools like this wouldn't be in business without us, so they need to shape up and start treating their customers (parents and kids) with respect, and show the Christian love they profess to have. Our child doesn't want be Catholic anymore because our child has been bullied so bad by the teachers.
1 person found this helpful

Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
I love St. Thomas More. I actually transferred from another private school, and I could not be more happy. The teachers are great. The priest is involved and the children adore him. My son and daughter are being pushed academically. Web could not be more happy.

Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
Do not listen to the naysayers on this site, this is a wonderful school. They do not tolerate many of the conduct issues which seem to abound in public schools. All of the students are properly dressed, speak respectfully, and are expected to be there to learn. Parents are expected to be involved, there is a lot of homework and grading is strict, but all of these are positives and build strong study habits for college and the career market. The teachers are experienced, and the administration involved. If you care about education and morals, send your child to St. Thomas More.


Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
Our kids recently started at STM after we decided to remove the kids from the towns public schools. While there are pros and cons to both schools, the spirituality, family involvement, and no nonsense attitude of the teachers has encouraged our kids to be the best that they can be in school. No school is perfect !!!! Yes, the grading scale is a little higher...but it means kids have to work harder to be the best that they can be.....and the effort shows in my kids progress. Instead of dumming down the kids, they expect the best !!! The kids attend mass twice a week, and Christian values are reinforced !!! Fr. Mike and Fr. Rick are top notch. The office staff are warm !!! Communication is non stop. The kids love their teachers and they truly learn skills for life !!! Mrs. Boyle, the assistant principal is wonderful !!!!

Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted November 30, 2010
- a parent
Although it is a great sacrifice sending our three children to this school, I would not have them go anywhere else. They love it, and are encouraged to thrive both academically and spiritually. Yes, the grading scale may be tighter than elsewhere. However, the results speak for themselves. Our children are well adjusted, confident, and ready to succeed in the world at large. No small task in today's educational system!

Saint Thomas More School 1

Posted October 19, 2010
- a community member
Unfair grading scale. 92 should not be a B. Seriously. Kids who go to St. Thomas More are at a disadvantage because they are less likely to get into honors classes and their GPA will take a hit if they take high school credit classes.


Saint Thomas More School 5

Posted June 06, 2010
- a parent
We have had four children graduate from STM. It's no wonder it is the largest Catholic school in our Diocese. EXCELLENT! Principal is top notch and always brings in new and exciting learning areas. He does not allow parents to run the school and some parents have a hard time. 99% of the parents are very involved and love the school. The teachers are OUTSTANDING. Priests are very involved. Thanks to our Pastor for bringing this Principal to our school.

Saint Thomas More School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
I love St. Thomas More School because of the values and educational opportunities the children have that are not provided by other schools. The principal and staff are excellent and concerned people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint Thomas More School
8435 Calumet Avenue, Munster, IN  46321
(219) 836-9151
Last modified Saint Thomas More School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saint Thomas More School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top