Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and principal at St. Paul's provide a very supportive and caring environment for the children. We especially like the Chapel program at St. Paul's. The students are organized into Chapel families where there are 2 to 3 students from each grade in a group. The older students are paired up with the younger students to help them learn how to follow along with the Chapel service. It helps the younger students learn how to read the hymnal and behave in church while the older students are given more leadership responsibilities. It is a wonderful program and each child has a special Chapel buddy in another grade.

St Paul'S Lutheran School 4

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
St. Paul's provides a Christian environment where children feel safe, learn and can participate in a vast variety of extra curriculars. The preschool staff and programs are amazing! The teachers and aides are caring and patient with the children and always make time to talk with parents. Smaller classrooms allow for students to be known by name, not as a number. Choosing St. Paul's was the perfect choice for our family.


St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted February 07, 2015
- a parent
We have been blessed to be part of the St. Paul's Lutheran Church and School community for over 10 years. The principal, Ms. Mertens joined the school a few years ago and has been an absolute blessing to the community. The school is able to offer so much more than just the core courses. The students are able to participate in music, art, foreign language, as well as many other academic, athletic, and social clubs or teams. Being able to get a quality education with dedicated and committed teachers, in a loving, Christian environment has been simply priceless!

St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
My husband attended St. Paul's over 30 years ago and now we are blessed to have our son here. We are one of the few schools that start the foreign language program in Kindergarten, which helps the kids become much better writers and better users of the English language. Music is a big part of our education as well. It improves focus and helps kids do well in their other subjects. Our teachers and staff are caring and are wonderful examples for living a Christ centered life. They nourish the children's minds and hearts. Our principal has an open door policy, is very easy to talk to, and treats every issue, good or bad, with kindness and confidence. Our children are well prepared for high school academically and make better life decisions knowing God is always with them. I feel very blessed that my son gets this wonderful education.

St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
We feel great about our decision to send our son here. He gets a wonderful education and learns values inspired by God. Mr. Zimmer is a passionate, kind and disciplined man who takes his responsiblity personally. We feel blessed to have him leading our school. The classrooms are smaller, so there is more one on one time. The kids are taught heart, mind and soul!!


St Paul'S Lutheran School 4

Posted February 06, 2011
- a parent
I am a former teacher from St. Paul's and I am very excited to send my children there now. I love how approachable the staff has been and how they are willing to really sit and listen to you. The academics are on par with many top schools, and they are not just worried about your child's today, but their eternity as well!

St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a parent
Inviting, family-oriented atmosphere. We started out in the preschool and have moved on to Kindergarten and 1st grade. The smaller class sizes are a plus, as the kids get more individual attention. I love the Accelerated Reading program and Resource teacher that my daughter sees each week in a small group. I feel like she is getting the extra nudge and challenge she needs to succeed.

St Paul'S Lutheran School 5

Posted April 23, 2010
- a community member
They provide great Christ based education, encouraging children to grow in their love of God and of all whom he created.


St Paul'S Lutheran School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children went there and got a great education. When they moved on to the highly-rated public high school, they were ahead of most of the kids who had gone through the highly-rated public middle school.

St Paul'S Lutheran School 1

Posted August 15, 2009
- a parent
St. Paul's Lutheran treats its sister members students like outsiders. This school is predominately non minority and is in dire need of multicultural educational awareness training. I did not see welcoming of new students at this school. If your child is not a returning student, they are totally ignored at their Open House. This school does not follow their policy manual. If there is a problem with a teacher, the principal does not address it, but if there is a problem with a student he is quick to make the student's life miserable. The staff and administration claim that they maintain a christian atomosphere at all times, but this is not the case. The principal will make a major decision without allowing the education board to decide on it and it is condoned by the lead Pastor. The lead Pastor is very cold and unfriendly and adheres to gossip.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Paul'S Lutheran School
8601 Harrison Avenue, Munster, IN  46321
(219) 836-6270
Last modified St Paul'S Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Paul'S Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top