Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John H Castle Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
When my child started the school year she was reading chapter books. However, after a few months in this school no longer is my child eager to read or go to a book store. This school shoves A/R goals and you are unable to read above or below your score (from one day of testing). Children are then are on their own accountability and availability of computers -told to test on each and every book they read. According to A/R the book Harold and the Purple Crayon is 3.0 meaning 3rd grade reading level. I don't think any child should be reading Harold and Purple crayon in 2nd or 3rd grade. Its all so subjected. So my child went from chapter books to picture books she read in kindergarten. Children in general should be gaining in reading levels each week however kids are only tested quarterly if that so they are limited to kiddie books etc. This system is failing. My child can't even read a book without asking "what a/r level is the book?" "I can't read that book" because of one schools approach to reading. Pathetic. This school is not open to change. This was just one of my many negative experiences with this school system.
1 person found this helpful

John H Castle Elementary School 3

Posted March 04, 2013
- a community member
Class sizes are way too big. There's an accident in front of the school every other week. Too congested in general. I had some awful, grumpy stuck up teachers at this school when I attended over 20 years ago. I do believe I received a good education here. It just seems like it's gone down hill since then with the overcrowding of classrooms. Can't receive the one-on-one experience when you have 35 other classmates.


John H Castle Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
We removed our child from Castle Elementary because of our awful experiences. The faculty and staff appear miserable. The office staff rarely greeted those that entered the office. I complained about this being a safety issue in September...WELL before the tragic events in Newtown, CT. The teacher did not seem to understand our child. Even told me that I did not spend enough time him. I am a stay at home mom. I don't understand where that opinion was derived. When my husband, a teacher in a nearby area, emailed the principal, asst principal and teacher to complain, no reply was received. After our child started to become physically ill at the mention of school (which, by the way, he was faking) we were forced to act. We needed someone who was willing to help us through these issues. When we switched schools, I expected a process to get my child to become comfortable. I was floored when on the first day at the new school, he hopped out of my car and trotted into the school like he was there from the first day. We will NEVER return to Castle schools. And, since our experience has become known by those around us, we hear MANY similar sad tales.
1 person found this helpful

John H Castle Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
This school is great! While other schools are laying off teachers, Castle elementary added new teachers. The standards are high, but the teachers strive to help the students meet them.

John H Castle Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
The class sizes are still an issue and the principal is horrible. The kids do get a well rounded education but the parent-teacher relationship is less than to be desired yet that comes with large class sizes.


John H Castle Elementary School 4

Posted May 21, 2010
- a parent
Overall I believe we had a pretty good experience at Castle Elementary. We moved to this area because of this school's reputation, however we have been a little disspointed. I don't feel the atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. The communication between school and home leaves much to be desired. To be fair we have only been at castle for 2 years so it is possible that teachers in the lower grades are more friendly and communicate better with parents. In the area of academics we are completely satisfied and know our son received a good education. I just would have liked to have felt more of a connection to the school than I have felt. I also feel that class size is a huge problem. In both 4th and 5th grade my son was in a class of 30 students... way too many to get much individual attention.

John H Castle Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
theclasses are WAY to overcrowed there were 38 kids in my daughters class! Therefore theres no one on one time with the students. we disliked it so much, we switched to chandler elementary!! We love their teaching routines!!

John H Castle Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a parent
I am very happy with the school and the teachers are the best.


John H Castle Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
We moved into the school district in the middle of the school year. The staff was helpful in our acclamation to the structure. We left a 4 star school as well and were happy to see how well this school functioned in regards to PTO and family involvement in both the class and fundraisers. It has been, and I expect it to continue to be, an excellent learning environment for our children. Leadership is outstanding here and no child will be left behind.

John H Castle Elementary School 5

Posted November 15, 2006
- a parent
This is a great 4-star school. They have a very active PTO, well-behaved kids and great discipline. The kindergarten classes are too crowded but other grades are excellent. My son is way ahead of his cousin who goes to another school in the state.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John H Castle Elementary School
3077 Indiana 261, Newburgh, IN  47630
(812) 853-8878
Last modified John H Castle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John H Castle Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.