Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Noblesville High School

Public | 9-12 | 2637 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

My son graduated from NHS this year and we have moved several times, but he felt comfortable here. Although it may be a larger school, he was given full attention by his wonderful guidance c., Mrs. Wisman. He felt prepared for college, impressed by his selection of courses offered, and overall proud to be a Noblesville Grad. They are always continuing to find ways to improve the school and adapt to its growth. Its a wonderful community to live in as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Have sent 3 children through this school system. Thank goodness I am done. My advice is to homeschool. The most of the problems seem to come from those in charge. Save yourself and your children. Do not send them to the high school !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Noblesville has some great things going for it unfortunately, it doesn t live up to the hype. While they are supposed to have high academic standards, we found their honors classes were 2 years behind the school we came from. My student s COUNSELOR, was a new college grad in CREATIVE WRITING. She was expected, as a course of her job, to provide CAREER, ACADEMIC &, HR counseling as well as intervention services. She had received no training in those areas. The school district is in one of the most affluent areas in the states. It has more funding for extra-curricular activities and the latest technologies. Every student has an IPAD this year. However, the students take no responsibility for their work, behavior or grades. The teachers cannot teach effectively, when parents provide no discipline. You will not find the high violent crime like IPS school experience, but there is a reason the juvie is right across the street. Drugs, sex and alcohol are rampant. Expect to spend $$ on Class trips to New York City, Disney World, Peru, Germany, or Spain to name a few. If you are middle class, you can expect your student to receive a hard time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

This is the best school ever - the teachers are great especially the art department - the rigor is where it should be and they have a wonderful credit recovery program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

My son attends Noblesville. Great school... IF you are an honors student and come from a "traditional" family. I am really tired of the self rightousness attitudes from the administraters here. A few of the teachers seem decent. Although it bothered me greatly to learn that a teacher actually told his students, "I dont care what you do, this is just my job" ! I think he really needs to find a new profession. I also dont understand why it takes 46 credits to graduate when the the state standard is 40. Do they really care about our kids????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

My child attended this school for two years (junior and senior) and we purposely bought a home in this disctrict when we moved here due to positive reviews and feedback that we had been given. Huge mistake. The majority of teachers are good, care about their students, but, like all schools, there are those that should consider a different profession. Our problems were not with the teachers, but the top administrators of this school, as well as the assisstant superintendant and counseling staff are without a doubt the most uncaring, self-righteous people I have ever met and not a one of them knows what they are doing. Good luck to you if you ever have a reason or problem that you need help with from them. Be prepared to be laughed at and ridiculed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

I use to attend this school. I hated it. Each teacher i had was unfair and disrespectful.


Posted August 12, 2005

NHS is a great school to raise your children in. The teachers honestly care about each and every student and will not accept failure from anyone. A big percentage of the school is involved in sports so balancing sports and academics is a lesson well learned. As a former student myself, I loved my times at NHS and look very much forward to sending my own children there someday!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2005

NHS offers many different academic courses of study and the block schedule is great. They have a strong sport program and the administrators and students are nice and well maintained. I would strongly reccomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

507 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
72%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

654 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

666 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "B".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

78%

Average SAT score

1058

Graduation rate

95.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
71%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
16%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.7
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
23
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
83%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 72%
Hispanic 4% 10%
Black 3% 12%
Asian 2% 2%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A46%
Special education 14%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18111 Cumberland Road
Noblesville, IN 46060
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 773-4680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mosaics School
Noblesville, IN





Indiana Academy
Cicero, IN


Eman Schools
Fishers, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT