Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 526 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 2, 2013

It's very obvious these people do not care at all about their children individually. My son came home with a report today that his teachers let him sleep for over 2 hours!!!!! He goes to bed at 9 every night and gets up at 7am. This is RIDICULOUS and I AM FURIOUS with NORTH ELEMENTARY!!! Since starting there my 8 year old has been punched in the face 3 times and gotten into 2 other fights. The bullying is out of control, and after numerous meetings and many visits to help out the school. My second grader is NOT getting a proper education! Considering homeschooling!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I agree with the other statement regarding the fact that North lets kids fall through the cracks. My daughter is in first grade and I get no feedback what-so-ever from her teacher but if I complain about somthing then her teacher says 'well xxxxx has been having problems with this or that.' If there was such a problem with my daughter why am I not notified until I complain about something? The principle sticks up for the teachers whether they are right or wrong so you really have no where to turn. You just have to deal with it. I am very upset that my daughter has to go to that school. I am just thankful that my daughter will get to go to a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I love Mr. Barnes and the teachers at North :-) It has been an awesome experience for my daughter (now in 4th grade).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Teachers are dedicated and the school welcomes children with special need particularly autism
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

My daughter was transfered there half way thru the year. She is extremely bright. Wonderful vocabulary. She was in first grade. I am very disapointed with the move. I believe North failed my daughter. She was 'placed' into 2nd grade. She didn't know her math facts, and couldn't read as well as she should have. I find it unacceptable that a girl as bright as she is would be left in that state. She is too social, and at age 6 needed teachers who understood they need to keep a six year old focused. Not let them slip thru the cracks. My daughter slipped thru. And I'm furious. I hate that I have no choice, and have to send her back. I truely cry at night thinking I have to send her back. I will give them till Christmas break, and if I must, I will homeschool her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

North is outstanding! There are high expectations for both teaching and learning. Data is collected continuously so that sound teaching practices can be fine tuned.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 72%
Black 4% 12%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Asian 2% 2%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A46%
Special education 17%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Joseph Brown
Fax number
  • (317) 776-6274

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

440 North 10th Street
Noblesville, IN 46060
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 773-0482

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mosaics School
Noblesville, IN


Legacy Christian School
Noblesville, IN




Our Lady Of Grace School
Noblesville, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT