Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Guerin Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 714 students

We are best known for Catholic identity
 
 

 
 

Living in Noblesville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $166,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2013

We've had two kids graduate from Guerin Catholic and a 3rd is currently enrolled. I can't rave enough about the experience! These are 3 totally different kids, but each one has "found" his own place in the classroom, in his faith, and in athletics and arts. The teachers and staff are great at encouraging them to try new things and really push them to excel. We've had multiple full-ride college scholarships for each of our grads, and expect the next one will see the same. It certainly makes the cost of tuition a bargain when college ends up free! Our academic goals for the kids were blown away. I'd be remiss not to state how much spiritual growth the kids have experienced. All left Guerin Catholic excited about their faith, understanding why we believe what we do, and have stayed strong in their practice of it even in college! We'll be forever grateful for the wonderful witnesses they had in those 4 years. Finally, sports and art - all the kids have played multiple sports, starting positions in multiple sports - and all have loved it. Plenty of playing time to improve because it is smaller, yet plenty of top competition because it's not too small. We ALL love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

We have one child who already has graduated from Guerin Catholic and another who will graduate in 2014. We have been very happy with their experiences at Guerin Catholic. The smaller school environment has given our children opportunities that they might not have received at larger schools. The teachers are always willing to work with the students if additional help is needed. The staff is made up of a wonderful group of individuals whose #1 goal is to make the Guerin Catholic experience the best for your student! While we are thought of as a "newer" school, we will be celebrating our 10th year next year! We've had a lot of success in Athletics (State Champions in basketball last year - amongst other titles), and Academics. The success story is evidenced by the fact that next year we will have a "wait list" for two of the grades. We've been around long enough that people know who we are, know what the school has to offer, know the opportunities that their children will have, and appreciate that it all comes with the opportunity to attend a Catholic High School. I would highly recommend sending your student to Guerin Catholic. You'll be glad you did!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

As the parent of a Guerin Catholic student, I can tell you that the school far surpasses expectations! The academic strength is clearly evident by the impressive list of colleges and universities that graduates are being accepted to each year. More than that, however, our family is blown away by the terrific sense of community, smiling faces, and strong Catholic identity of the school. My son might say the coursework is fairly rigorous, and I would say he has been challenged-- and offered every opportunity to succeed. The very well attended football games, basketball games, fine arts productions (and the like) are evidence of the energy and enthusiasm of a student body pulling for one another. In comparison to the terrific but much larger public schools in the area, Guerin Catholic offers a remarkable opportunity for families and young people looking for a positive and faith filled environment. Staff, students, and administrators at GC are getting it right. We wondered when we enrolled our son if the GC families who offered us encouragement were "drinking the Koolaid". If they were, then we have joined them. Go Golden Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

We are getting ready to graduate our second child from Guerin and the third will come in as a freshman next year. We could not be more pleased with the school. The education is top-notch. The teachers are fully engaged with the students and all promote the God-centered climate of the school. There are countless opportunities for kids to get involved from sports to theatre and arts to multiple clubs and many community service projects. The leadership has been outstanding, the parents are truly involved. It is an awesome community and you feel the warmth of the community as soon as you walk in the doors. Makes me want to go back to high school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

We have been a part of the Guerin Community for almost 6 years. Our children are receiving not only an outstanding education but also spirituality at the grass roots level. The faculty/staff treat each other like family. They continually try to bring out the best in the students always wanting them to excel. At Guerin, students can play a sport, be in the newest stage production and be a part of many school clubs. The opportunities are limitless. A review, seen below, and written in '07 expressed the need for many kinks to be worked out because Guerin was a newer school at that time. They have been!!! We are blessed that one daughter has graduated from Guerin and one is a Junior now. They have thanked us numerous times for sending them to a high school where academics are important, discipline is understood, spirituality is encouraged and families are valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

Could not ask for a better experience! The school's mission to remain God-centered is always at the forefront. The academics are challenging, the entire staff is engaging and dedicated to excellence. Our sports programs are awesome and our student attendance and overall fan support at the games surpasses many of the larger schools. Our basketball and soccer programs are at very high levels of competition. Go Eagles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I came to Guerin from Carmel Middle School, so attending a private school was completely new to me. It was my first time I'd ever gone to a private school, so of course I was against the idea. Some things that didn't exactly excite me: uniforms, no French classes (only Latin and Spanish), no culinary classes (I'd like to pursue the culinary arts), and the idea that I'd be separated from my friends. But now that I'm a sophomore, I love it so much! It's small, and I've managed to look past the downfalls. I have so many great friends, and I like the majority of my teachers. I'm really involved there: tennis, choir, yearbook, church stuff, and just high school in general! In synopsis: GUERIN'S GREAT! GO GOLDEN EAGLES!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

Exactly the right school for our son. Guerin was a difficult choice for us to make, as getting there adds an hour to our commute each morning and evening, and we have to drive past Chatard and Cathedral to get there, but we couldn't be happier with the decision. The school is new, but contrary to the first reviewer, I find the administration is doing a good job in growing the school. It was named as one of the top 50 Catholic schools in America, and that honor is a well earned one. I have lived in 3 states, and am very well acquainted with the Catholic schools in those states. That Guerin ranks ahead of all those schools speaks volumes of where they are. That their 81 graduates this last Spring were offered over $9 million in college scholarships further shows that Guerin Catholic has fast earned a very positive reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

I have found Guerin High School to be beyond excellent. The teachers we have had show an extremely high interest in preparing our children in all studies. The coaches at all levels are top notch and each new addition to the staff is chosen with great care. Rick Wagner is keeping our Catholic faith central to the school. Our children are deepening their faith,experiencing awesome technology , learning subject material, and having a blast with all their new friends from various places. Could not be happier with Guerin- (well, we do need more seating in the gym!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

We were debating on sending our daughter to Guerin because of the distance and the cost. However, with a little scholarship we decided to try it. Our daughter absolutely loves this school and so do her parents! The teachers all have their masters and are real people my child can go to for anything! The classes are small and the programs are advanced. The students there are earning a diploma that is recognized globally! Scholarships for college are very likely! We love that Jesus is in the middle of all this greatness and the students are better people because of it! IT is well worth it! The students are all provided with lap tops and e-mail there homework and assignments! It is easier on the environment as well as preparing these kids for the world! Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

Being a new school there are many kinks to be worked out. The administration does not seem up to the task and the environment is not a compassionate one towards the children. Athletic opportunities are there but all programs are in development and will take another couple of years. The teachers don't seem to show an interest in the students or the school. You can double that sentiment for the administration. Maybe in a few years the school will come forward as a destination for good students but it will be some time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
66%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

97%

Average SAT score

1145

Graduation rate

98.3%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
90%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
13%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.7
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
26
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
92%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 74%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian N/A 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 3%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Carmel Middle School
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel
St. Louis deMontfort
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
Perdue University
Franciscan University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:20 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr James Mcneany
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Fax number
  • (317) 582-0140

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Purple, gold
School mascot
  • Golden Eagle
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Carmel Middle School
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel
St. Louis deMontfort

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$12000 - $13000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Application fee
Yes

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
Perdue University
Franciscan University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15300 North Gray Road
Noblesville, IN 46062
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 582-0120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Union Bible Academy
Westfield, IN


Westfield High School
Westfield, IN




Eman Schools
Fishers, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT