Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morgan Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 501 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

new principle, not able to give accurate reading yet, appears mr richardson is still in volved until she gets going
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

After considering private schools for my children, we decided to try Morgan Elementary before paying an expensive tuition. I couldn't be more satisfied with Morgan. The school continues to amaze me with outstanding education, caring teachers, parental involvement, fun & educational activities, and my list could go on. Mr. Richards is an outstanding principal, sincerely caring about each student and their success. Mr. Richards makes the school an enjoyable fun learning enviroment that children will grow beyond what they would at the "average" school. I am amazed every day at what my children learn socially, academically and so on. For example, my first grader came home saying his numbers in German! The teachers go above and beyond for these children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

Morgan Elementary is the BEST school a parent could ask for!!! Mr. Richards is a great, caring, hands on principal. And Mrs. Nix is great. And they have lots of family activities throughout the year. They offer many summer school programs also. I wish they could go to Morgan until they graduate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Three of my children now attend Morgan elementary. After the verbal abuse my middle child suffered at the hands of teachers and staff at North Harrison I had considered moving to Clark county where they could properly deal with a special needs child. She is not retarded but autistic and had a hard time understanding. Thanks to the principle, Mrs. Craig especially she has not only deveoloped a love for learning but the self confidence she was lacking before. I am very thankful for the patient and understanding staff members at Morgan Elementary. God Bless You All!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2008

I was very worried about the quality of this school prior to my daughters attending and even went so far as to consider moving into another district. Morgan Elementary is a wonderful school that is very child centered and focused on learning. I couldn't be more happy with Morgan Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Wonderful Teachers, Wonderful Principle, Great environment for learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2007

As a parent, it makes you much more comfortable with the school when the principal is so hands on and you can see how much the kids adore him. I've never seen a principal be more involved in the academic as well as the social progress of a child. He runs, jumps, plays, and jokes with the kids on their level. It's a wonderful school, full of parent & grandparent involvement. When you are at the school, you get a sense of 'coming home'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

Mr. Richards (principal) is completely fantastic. I've never been so impressed with a leader in school. Very involved, very willing to help in any way possible. Most of the teachers we've dealt with have been pretty good. The guidance counselor, Debbie Nix is equally fantastic. Again, I couldn't be more impressed with her sincere interest and concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 72%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Black 1% 12%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Megan Reynolds
Fax number
  • (812) 364-4085

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12225 Old State Road 135 Northeast
Palmyra, IN 47164
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 364-6138

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Milltown School
Milltown, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT