Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pendleton Heights Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 732 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2012

I am currently a student attending PHMS, and i think it is truly a great school, as do most students who actually go to the school! The school has an "A" in Indiana's department of education, has great extra-ciricular activities, and teachers who actually want to teach the students, if you have a problem, you can go ask a teacher or staff member, and they'll [most likly] try to help you. If you're thinking about switching schools, I highly recommend choosing PHMS.


Posted August 12, 2011

First of all this school is seriously great, don't listen to those parents who havent ACTUALLY walked through those halls as a student. Second of all, sure stuff does happen there that probably shouldnt but doesnt all schools have that same problem. Nobody should have to go to epic proportions (such as moving, who does that?) to "get away from that school" as I quote from another review. Theres nothing to run away from? This school is the best school that I have gone to. The clubs are great, the teachers are absolutely amazing and know everybody by there name if there your teacher or not. although the student body may be big they give you attention that no other school has given me. My brother ha had got the best grades he got in a long time BECAUSE of this school!!!


Posted August 8, 2011

The problem here is that the current Superintendent and the Principal of this school are very very good friends. If you cant get anything done with the Principal dont dare go to the Superintendent or you will get threatened with a lawsuit and also your email blocked so you can even correspond with your childs teachers. My child was not a problem but the way the current Principl is he makes them problems. If you are a teachers kid or well known in the district then you have a free pass so to speak. If you are from Markleville or Ingalls then you are a target. At first someone told me this but I never realized it until my son went there. So glad he is out of that place ad at the High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

This year a new middle school was built in Pendleton and it is amazing. The school is very clean and the lunches are actually good. The teachers help me if I have a problem with something and are very understanding about things. This would be great school for anyone. The different sports that are available for students to partake in are great and the different classes are wonderful! I love this school so much and the other reviews were probably about our past middle school. It was very disgusting and the lunches were rather gross but the new school is amazing. You should definitely go to Pendleton Heights Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2009

The school system is like a step back into the 1950's! Get with the 2000's the policies, academics and even the school lunches are way outdated. The school basically caters to the very normal middle of the road child. It also teaches several grade levels under every other school system around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2009

I am a parent of a child that attended phms. I am so disapointed by the school that I withdrew my child. I am currently homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

this school is very cliquey. You can do great if you fit into thier mold. Otherwise, they are very quick to judge students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I am currently a student attending PHMS and feel that some of the things said are false. I've had four brothers go through before me and now I'm there, and it's not that bad at all. I did make a schedule change request eairler this year and they denied it. But not before I had a meeting with the princepal, the instructer of that class, and my father. This is a great school and if you are thinking about moving to Pendleton for the schools, I totally recommend it.Signed Kaytlyn D. (yes I'm not afraid to sign my name when I speak my opinion)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

I am a student, currently attending PHMS. I've been to a few schools and this one is by far the best. The teachers make work funny and can be serious when it comes down to it. They always understand different situations& backgrounds of the students. It's amazing. Three words for this school. Simply tooo amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

i am a student at this school and it is one of the best schools i have ever been to!! Great students, Gret Teachers, and fun activities!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I believe that pendleton middle school is a very good school they have after school study tables which allows students to have help with homework that they do not understand and also they have a no tolerance bullying situation which i like also the teachers are very communicative with parents which allows parents to feel like part of their childs life at school kristi hurt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

I have one child already pass through the halls of PHMS & I have another one ready to start the 7th grade in the fall. I have had nothing short of exceptional professionalism from all the staff. My family moved to Pendleton based on excellent reports about the South Madison Community School System; we have yet to be disappointed. I know that not every family will find Pendleton as perfect a fit as my family has found it to be. Moreover, I'm sorry that these families have felt that moving out of the community was the only solution. For anyone who is looking into Pendleton as a new place to live, I would like to welcome you to a 'Home Town' that has been a wonderful place to live & raise a family. The schools, churches, community & friendly people make it a place that I am proud to call home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

I'm a student just commenting that these parents shouldn't be taken seriously considering they can't even use proper grammer and the right 'there' in their reviews. The middle school is not that bad, and sure, some things that shouldn't happen do happen, but as far as I'm concerned, there are plenty schools worse than Pendleton in the area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2005

Pendleton Middle School is a disgrace. I had one child go through that school and had another one coming in, so we put the house for sale and moved just to avoid that school. The principal sweeps everything under the rug so the community does not know what is really going on their. School should not be like this. I had heard the horror stories about the middle school before my oldest attended but kept thinking that surely it's not that bad. But I am here to tell you that it is ever bit as bad and worse than can be imagined. Signed by a parent who is so glad not to be a part of that community anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

Pendleton Heights Middle School has really been a dissapointment to our family. We have put two children through the school. They seem more interested in punishment and disapline then teaching our children and giving them a good education. The principal and superintendent both are very unflexable and are not willing to work with the parents when it comes to your child. Our children have been punished unfairly in situations that were completely out of there control. If you have a situation come up in this school. No matter what you say or do, you are helpless. If you choose to go against the school they will only make it harder on your child. Pendleton elementary and High schools are great. The middle schol really needs some work. Sign a very disapointed parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 72%
Multiracial 3% 4%
Black 2% 12%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A46%
Special education 16%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7450 South 300 West
Pendleton, IN 46064
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 778-2139

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

MTI School of Knowledge
Indianapolis, IN


Calvary Academy
Anderson, IN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT