Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
26 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Creations Christian School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
I doubt any students would disagree with this! Sometimes they hate it--they don't always get their way and they don't always get served to--but even with the complaints some will voice, these traits are developed.

New Creations Christian School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
Respect is due and expected. This is a value lacking in many contemporary school environments in favor of familiarity, which isn't a bad thing, except then where are young people to learn the respect they will be expected to have out in the adult world?


New Creations Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
Absolutely. There isn't anything about the environment that would not develop these traits--for those who are open, these traits are developed toward teachers, staff, fellow students, and people worldwide. At minimum, these traits are developed in community toward fellow students.

New Creations Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
There are students who will grow incredibly at New Creations. There are others who will eschew everything to chart a course for destruction. The opportunity is there for every student to choose.

New Creations Christian School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a community member
What this school is: Transformative. What this school isn't: Coddling. I know that's not popular in an era of schools boasting on-campus spas, five-star chefs, and more extracurricular fun activities than a cruise ship. I like all those things (I do!) but there is something very fundamental lost in the growth of a young individual when the emphasis is on the school's offerings, not the experience or the overarching goal of the school. What is the goal? Students prepared for real life. A life in which they will work and serve with joy, step up to the plate (I mean the plate of responsibility, not fine cuisine, they'll need to earn that), respect themselves and one another, and see what they can accomplish in this world. What happened to the benchmark of character-building as a preparation for the future? I don't mean this harshly, but speculatively. Somewhere there was a paradigm shift, and New Creations gets back to the real business of transforming lives from "it's all about me" to "what's my best next step?" I am as impressed with New Creations now as I was 15 years ago.


New Creations Christian School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 16, 2015
- a parent
This school breeds fear hate and resentment I can say this because I attended the school

New Creations Christian School 1

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
- Beautiful campus - Fast enrollment - No licensed therapists/counselors - Charismatic church services lasting hours at a time w/speaking in tongues, wailing, etc. - Very limited extracurriculars - Almost no communication to parents (exception: weekly report card emailed 5 days after end of period) - Meals not health conscious (or tasty) - Pleas/suggestions for changes sent to board ignored - Letters sent home not mailed promptly - Enrollment dropped from 13 to 8 boys in 8 months; staff turned over approx. 5 positions

New Creations Christian School 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a teacher
I work with the most selfless hard working people on the planet. There is 24/7 staff supervision in both dorms. Children are taught respect and discipline. I have witnessed the effectiveness of this school. We pour our lives into these kids. We see their lives changed for the better! I expect parents of students who have been expelled to not write poor reviews, however I see their disgruntled nature exposing itself.


New Creations Christian School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
I would like to let other parents know there is a lack of supervision in boys dorm. Qualified staff member is very lax. Think twice and thoroughly check out everything. There is a list of excellent schools.

New Creations Christian School 5

Posted July 01, 2013
- a community member
New Creations is a private boarding school which has been located in the Richmond, Indiana area since 1969. They also have a Christian school for students local to the Richmond area, though the bulk of their focus is definitely on their residential program. Students come from all over the United States, particularly the states immediately surrounding the school, though they do have some foreign students. Students come from a wide variety of backgrounds, and the guy students are kept separate from the girls. I've been on the campus for visits several times over the past several years and have had great interaction with staff and students and the administration. I've been quite impressed, overall. Their property (lake, river, fields, woods) is impressive, and they have growth goals all mapped out in regards to how they hope to develop their property and expand the training they have available. New Creations is very much a Christian institution - in contrast with schools which are merely religious in name only. The administration is very passionate about what they do. It's not an organization in it for the money. The staff I observed were sacrificially serving for the youth.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Creations Christian School
6400 National Road East, Richmond, IN  47374
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (765) 935-2790
Last modified New Creations Christian School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top