Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frontier Jr-Sr High School

Public | 7-12 | 359 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2011

I have had one child graduate from this school and two others attending currently. The complaints regarding the biology teacher are accurate. I have had personal experience with this individual with all three of my children. All three have earned at least one letter grade lower in this class than all of their other classes. It is a shame to have a childs GPA ruined or reduced because of one class especially for parent swho do not have the option of summer classes because they have to work. Most teachers are great at communicating although there are several that refuse to answer emails even after ccing the guidance counseler and principal on the emails. There are limits to what is offered but understandable due to enrollment size. The baseball program is first rate however the softball program operates all on politics and the last name of the players. My daughter was forced out of the sport because of the coach and the off the field games that are played.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

The Biology teacher is excellent. No teacher can make the vocabulary or concepts of biology easier. It is, by its own nature, a difficult subject. When students do not apply themselves to the subject or do the homework or review it is not the teacher's fault. Without the work ethic necessary, any student will fail and resort to summer classes. Why not do the work in class and avoid the summer work?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 1, 2011

Significant number of students failing Biology I at this school, resulting in significant enrollment in Twin Lakes and North White Biology summer classes for makeup credit. Longstanding statistic of high failures in Biology I at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2007

I went to Frontier a few years ago and although it was a safe and friendly environment. I realized, though, after entering the real world that more could have been done.. Being in a small school gave room for slacking and poor social skills. Sports were great and gave many the ability to work as a team. But the world has more to offer then sports.. The kids need to be challange in the class room and prepared for college and what lies after that.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 5, 2006

Not all sports are offered (ie. tennis, soccer, wrestling), but I don't believe we have the numbers or the finances to support more than we have. We are competitive even with our small numbers. I only wish that the coaching staff as a whole be more knowledgeable of their particular sport and more involved with the athletes than they sometimes are. Discipline needs to be more consistent across the board and the punishment should fit the crime. The individual student should be considered. I think that some people need to step up and not be so passive. Academics are good, but there needs to be access to honors programs earlier (like more programs in the elementary). GPA's should reflect the types of classes the student takes. It's not fair to those students who take harder classes to possibly be lower in class rank than those in easier classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

i am in htis school. i am a senior and have when to this school all my life. it is ok for the one on one help but they are so small that they don't have that much to offer the kids. like soccer the growing sport i love it but they don't have it here. htey tried it out my freshmen year but we barly had games and the school didn't suport us at all because we had to use the football field to practice on, and football is the 'money maker' there.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "D".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "D".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

70%

Average SAT score

988

Graduation rate

83.3%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
67%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
25%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.3
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
20
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
73%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 72%
Hispanic 2% 10%
Asian 1% 2%
Multiracial 1% 4%
American Indian 0% 0%
Black 0% 12%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A46%
Special education 20%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Chalmers Drive
Rochester Hills, IN 48309
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 984-5437

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT