Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Homan Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2016
- a community member
Very experienced teachers with alot of structure. Alot of lesson planning with guides. The Adventure Club is a Great Bonus! The bus driver is prompt ans knows all the kids by their name. Very happy!!!

Homan Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
I'm very pleased with the education provided by the staff at Homan. It's an excellent school with tremendous teachers! Very high standards for all students.


Homan Elementary School 2

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
Notice none of these reviews are current. That's because Homan has gone so far downhill in recent years. Not a fan of Homan Elementary and moving my children elsewhere. School is so focused on children with special needs that kids of average ability slip through the cracks. Classes aren't overly large, but kids just don't get what they need from the teachers. Teacher/parent communication is lacking. Curriculum is AWFUL. The only reason my kids have learned math is because I teach them at home. Reading groups are led by unskilled teacher's aides. There are good teachers mixed in, but good luck if you don't get one of them!

Homan Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
this school is great!!! staff and all

Homan Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I love this school! The teachers are amazingly dedicated, as well as the new principal. The PTO has done so much for our children!


Homan Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
I am truly impressed by the academic level of this school. My child was able to read, write and spell by the end of Kindergarten. Each year she excelled. The incentives to learn are very creative. Homan has exceeded my expectations.

Homan Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2008
- a parent
I am rating this school on it's approach to today's issues. My family experienced a very different side of Mr. Kellogg as well as the school. Due to economic hardship we moved out of district and without so much as a 'can we help' they kicked my 5 yr old out of school. Thankfully I am a determined parent and I found the McKinney Vento act that protects children and families from this type of treatment. I got my daughter back in school for the remainder of the year but have yet to get an apology from Mr. Kellogg. I am hoping to enroll my daughter in district outside of Lake Central...

Homan Elementary School 4

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
My entire family is very happy with Homan Elementary overall, however, we do wish they offered intermurals/after school activities.


Homan Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 19, 2007
- a parent
All 3 of my children attended this school. I can't express how wonderful this school is. Homan has a faculty of teachers that are so dedicated to preparing our children for the future. Mr. Kellog is thee most professional and dedicated principal I have ever met. I applaud him for an outstanding job!

Homan Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2006
- a parent
Caring teachers. Extra help when needed when asked of teachers. Nice environment. My daughters both loved attending this school!

Nearby schools

Homan Elementary School
210 East Joliet Street, Schererville, IN  46375
(219) 322-4451
Last modified Homan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top