Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Darden Primary Center 1

Posted March 20, 2015
- a parent
This school has some nice teachers however that doesn't make up for them not paying attention to their students. My son is constantly bullied, pushed, teased, he's been hit, bruised, cut, and now he was choked and no one even saw or acted on it. Not acceptable and we are moving to a better school district.

Darden Primary Center 3

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
My children attend darden. I was very happy with their experience over all, compared to their last school. My children were happy, they didn't have many issues with teachers or students their grades improved. This took a lot of stress off of me. So far darden is a good school.


Darden Primary Center 2

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
For Kindergarten my child went to PHM. First grade she went to Darden, and I was not impressed. The material they learned in first grade at Darden, we learned in Kindergarten at PHM.

Darden Primary Center 4

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Darden has been a great school for my children. The music program has been the highlight for both my children. They can't wait to go to that class. All the teachers seem to be very caring. I am very happy with the programs there. Good school for students. Unbelievable music presentations!

Darden Primary Center 3

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
My biggest issue with this school is the recesses. There is one 15 minute recess a day, and in winter months when it is too cold, or rainy days, they sit down and watch a show for 15 minutes and no talking/wiggling is allowed. They don't even get to run around in the gym. At recess they are not allowed to run, or yell. Despite the lack of recess time, my kids did thrive and learned a lot. Their first year there was difficult because both of my children didn't have what I considered to be good teachers (one yelled a lot, even when I was there helping). But their second year there was much better because they had wonderful teachers. This school is just okay. I would recommend living in Granger instead of South Bend and going to that school district as it is much better.


Darden Primary Center 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a community member
I am very impressed with Darden Primary Center as a grandparent. I am impressed with the teachers, principal, parent involvemnet, and the leadership here. Both of my children attended Elkhart community schools and Darden far exceeds this school system in many ways.

Darden Primary Center 5

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
I have 2 children at Darden and they love it. My 10 year old daughter is just getting into wanting to be involved in the music program but she's so excited about it, it has to be great! The level of parental involvement is awesome! I think if schools cared this much about parents back when I was in school I would have worked harder. The special education preschool program is just fantastic. My 3 year old started school and I swear within a couple of weeks was walking and talking better and better. And all the teachers there care so much, you don't find that very often.

Darden Primary Center 2

Posted March 29, 2006
- a parent
Well-meaning parents assured me that Darden was a good school; unfortunately I was very disappointed with my children's experience there. The curriculum was not challenging and discipline problems in the classroom were an obstacle that prevented quality instruction. I was dismayed that teachers and parents found these (lack of) standards acceptable.


Darden Primary Center 5

Posted January 07, 2006
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers go out of their way to help students and parents. The PTA has alot of activities for the whole family. This is the way a school should be

Darden Primary Center 4

Posted May 13, 2005
- a parent
We have been very happy with this school. The teachers seem to genuinely care about the student. They make them feel special when they are doing a good job and they really try to help them when they are struggling. The teachers are outstanding and they have some exciting programs for the children like the read program. The PTA has started some exciting after school programs that include sports and even a cooking class. What a great place for children in grades K-4.

Nearby schools

Darden Primary Center
18645 Janet Drive, South Bend, IN  46637
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (574) 243-7335
Last modified Darden Primary Center is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top