Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted September 29, 2011
- a parent
We reviewed several schools before choosing SJGS. Concerning our daughter's education, it has been the best decision we've made. SJGS is made up of a wonderful community of parents, faculty, and staff. School leadership is amazing. I would highly recommend this school for all children, regardless of race, ethnicity or socioeconomic status.

St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted January 22, 2011
- a parent
This is a wonderful school, and our family is neither affluent nor is our child 'perfect'. Yes, children are expected to pay attention, complete their homework and strive to be their best. All of this in a wonderful, loving environment. Our daughter is getting a wonderful education in an environment that focuses on the talents of the individual and our responsibility to one another. The teachers and staff care about our children (anyone affliated with a private school understands people are not there for the money). We love St. Joseph's School!


St Joseph Grade School 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
They support my values of both Christianity and education.

St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted August 11, 2010
- a parent
The few negative reviews that have been posted about St. Joseph Grade School are misplaced. The School is wonderful (I have three kids there). The teachers are caring and talented; the pastor and parish are entirely supported and dedicated; so many parents are invested and hard-working, and the school is welcoming of, and works tirelessly with, *all kinds* of kids. Yes, this is a Catholic school, and the Catholic character is important. What's wrong with that? Bottom line: St. Joseph Grade School is an outstanding school, and a model for Catholic schools everywhere.

St Joseph Grade School 1

Posted July 22, 2010
- a community member
If you are not from a typical wealthy Catholic Granger family, then St. Joseph's Grade School is not for you. The administration tends to cater to the rich. While the school has a number of excellent teachers, it seems as if no one there is able to accept diversity. Every grade is required to take religion classes, and the majority of the teachers do a wonderful job of educating students about Catholicism. While a Catholic education is a wonderful thing to have, at times it seems as if the teachers are presenting Catholicism to students who have differing belief systems in a way that says, "This is right, you are wrong." This narrow-minded attitude all too often drives students who are different to give up and not benefit from the good education they could be recieving. If more were done to embrace diversity, this could potentially be a wonderful learning environment.


St Joseph Grade School 2

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
St. Joe is a good school for kids who fit into the narrow 'norm'. Children who are outside that norm, behaviorally or socially, are not welcome. The administration and staff have a small toolbox to deal with those who are different. Once they realize they are not able to teach your child, there is not-so-subtle pressure to leave. We felt completely shunned and unsupported. When there are difficutlies discovered, a school is supposed to support, experiment with and make accomodations, and find resources to help. We were basically told our child's issues, and expected to fix them ourselves. If your child can sit at his or her desk and not make a peep, this is your school.

St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
St. Joe is a wonderful environment for my children, one that provides an excellent education while supporting the values of our home and our religion. It is terrific to have a group of adults that are so committed to the academic and religious growth of my children.

St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted December 30, 2007
- a parent
St. Joseph Grade School is an excellent learning envioronment for all children. The staff and administrators are very friendly and work together with the parents to ensure the children's education is successful. The academics are challenging and creative. The school is very friendly, I always feel welcomed and part of a family. I am very happy with SJGS.


St Joseph Grade School 1

Posted June 17, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

St Joseph Grade School 5

Posted May 12, 2006
- a parent
We have a kindergartener at St. Joe. It is a wonderful place. Welcoming community, academically challenging, strong religious education. Our daughter is happy and thriving.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Joseph Grade School
216 North Hill Street, South Bend, IN  46617
(574) 234-0451
Last modified St Joseph Grade School is a Private school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
St Joseph Grade School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.