Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Owen Valley Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 448 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

Finding the principal, athletic director and football coach very cooperative and caring about their students.


Posted September 30, 2013

My school, Owen Valley Middle School, is a school of success, achivement, and determination. Determination for achivement, and achivement for success. The staff works with what they have, and the office helps people all day long. The computer labs need better computers, and there are small twerks that the school could get fixed up. If we get the money or not, we'll make due. The school will go on on what we have, because we have enherited the determination, and success of the people around us. ~Thanks You!~


Posted May 22, 2012

I just learned that my grandson has been the victim of a bully. He is the type of kid who will not say anything and just take it. I agree with the other parents that say that the one who does the bulling will not get in trouble but the one who is being bullied will be made to pay for telling. To the bullies in the school I hope someday that you will think about all the negitive things that you have done and maybe be sorry for them. How knows when you have kids of your own it may come full circle.


Posted March 4, 2012

I love this school! All of the teachers are very nice and most of the students are too!


Posted September 24, 2009

I attend SOCS schools for all my k-12 years. Now as an education at major at a large university I am able to see what an unique school OVMS is, and the skill of the teachers there. The literacy program at OVMS is one that goes above and beyond in order to encourage reading. With programs such as the student-operated Little Shoppe of Books, the author visit and read-n-feed program, along with the Iditarod reading race, sponsored by Darla Staley, students can't help, but want to be apart of the literacy world. I have hopes that the administration willl keep these programs implemented after the founders of the have left the school. If you have a child that is not very enthusiastic about reading, this is the school they need to go to, to turn that around!


Posted December 1, 2008

This school has a good system but the bullies in the school are otragous and thay do nothing to stop this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Owen Valley is a wonderful School! It has a great system and my child is getting a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

I wish I could say that there is not any bullying in OVMS but there is always going to be some. I am in the 7th grade at Owen Valley and do not see a problem. The teachers are great at handling problems. As to all the BS about drugs and alcohol nobody has tried to get me to drink or do drugs. Nobody has tried to get my friends to either. I do not Know of anyone in the school who does drink or do drugs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2006

Then in response to some negative things... OVMS has the worst office workers ever. They are rude and never help you. The teachers are way more helpful than them. The only people that are in the office that were actually easy to get along with were Roe, Crowe, and Gayhart. But overall, you're not really in the office unless you're a troublemaker or something. So OVMS is great, unless you just don't want to learn. In that case, you have to put up with the worst part of it. The teachers are lenient, but if you're disruptive and not wanting to learn, you won't stay in their class long.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2006

My daughter transferred to this school from a school in Florida. I was really shocked at the difference in the kids here. They bully, are very violent and there seems to be a big drug and alcohol problem with this school. I know you have it in any school but Indiana needs a total reform. I am home schooling now. I couldn't stand to watch my child be tormented and cry daily over the mean kids. I blame the school and parents for lack of control of their kids. Mine is far from perfect, but getting rocks thrown at her at the bus stop and pushed down the stairs cause she is quiet and a bit shy is to much. If your child is introverted find another school. y heart goes out to all those who have to endure the BS here. Someone needs to be accountable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I think that all the stuff that people are saying about bullying is total BS i go to OVMS and there is no problem with bullying, the teachers are great aand whoever said that it is hard to get on a team, its not. and i think that byfar S.O.C.S schools are by far the best schools ive been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2005

I think Spencer Owen Community Schools are great I love it! There is a slight bullying problem but they have been having programs at the elementary schools to help prevent that. The teachers are really good, they have always done their jobs the way they're supposed to be done. Overall I think that it is an excellent school system .p.s. they could post whos in what class a little earlier prior to the school year!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2004

There is alot of kids making fun of other students in all the spencer schools, and if the child reports it to any of the teachers, or principal...the kids that do the tormenting or bullying doesn't get anything done, but the one that turned it in is looked down on as trying to cause trouble, especially if the tormentor's family has money or the parent works at one of the schools. And if your child trys out for sports here, make sure your name is well known or forget it...oh you might make the team, but won't get much playing time even if your one of the top players......and if one of your children doesn't do well or causes trouble they think all the children of the family will be the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2004

Bullying is a huge problem at all spencer owen community schools. I would suggest an overhaul of the current school board. Does not enforce any of the school handbook rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

Great school. The children get good educations and the teachers really try to help the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "B".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 72%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Black 0% 12%
Hispanic 0% 10%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A46%
Special education 16%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

626 Indiana 46
Spencer, IN 47460
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 829-2249

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hilltop Christian School
Worthington, IN


Pinnacle School
Bloomington, IN



Tri-North Middle School
Bloomington, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT