Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
St. John, IN
Students enrolled: 381
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Saint John Evangelist School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school!! I have two boys at SJE and both love it!! Especially since it is a very Magisterial Catholic School. The children get gym, art, computers, religion, music and Spanish class also!! The Parish Priest is awesome. He does not let his school get "used" as a cheep private school. If you are a parent that likes to be involved this place is great. It is a team effort to help Sheppard your child with a Christ heart. I love this school and church. ***Just a note, you sign a covenant regarding the schools policy, so if people are complaining that they send their child to a Catholic school but don't want to raise their child catholic then The problem is on their part. SJE tells you before your child is enrolled, what is expected of you as a parent. It is not the schools job to raise your children.

Saint John Evangelist School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
St. John the Evangelist School gave our three daughters a high quality education and a foundation that continues to benefit their lives. The state-of-the-art technologies along with an excellent teaching staff provided them with an outstanding learning experience in the classroom. Not only did our children learn what it means to be a Catholic, but the girls were able to practice it every day. Catholic values are reinforced in the classroom where teachers and classmates shared their morals and values. SJE has provided the individual classroom attention that we wanted for our children. Close friendships form, personal relationships with teachers grow, our principal and parish priest worked side by side to provide a safe, caring learning environment for our children.


Saint John Evangelist School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
My children graduated 8th grade from SJE with a strong academic education. They learned how to study, prepare for classroom tests as well as the state standardized test, participated in Science Fairs, learned their faith, made long lasting friendships, had teachers who truly cared for them, the list goes on and on. As a family, we were sad to see this part of our lives come to an end. When the children are out of school, they want to visit SJE and the faculty and staff. To me, that says a lot about what kind of school this great place is. If you're considering a catholic education, I would suggest checking it out. It was the best decision our family made!

Saint John Evangelist School 2

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
Look elsewhere and do your homework, interview moms and dads, go to the church that you are "required" to go to "every" sunday (or else...) and see the type of people you are dealing with. Every one looks unhappy , either distant, discouraged, unaproachable unless they are older with no children. Then make a choice of school. There is far better all around in the area private and public.

Saint John Evangelist School 5

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
We have been extremely pleased with Stl John and feel luckly to have such a fine school to have our child go too. We were very worried moving from a top rated school in Illinios but our child needed to "catch up" when she started. Not only do they always get highly rated on all scores but my daughter everyday also hears and learns what it means to be a Christian. Great tools in this tough world. They teach to the mind and more importanly the heart of a child.


Saint John Evangelist School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a student
This school is so awesome. Its the best. We get taught things that publoc schools by us don't get taught.

Saint John Evangelist School 0
no rating

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter loves her teachers and the school. They are above in reading and math. It is a great school!

Saint John Evangelist School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Saint John Evangelist School 4

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
We've had children in both SJE and in the Lake Central elementary/jr high schools. For the 'middle 70%' of students, SJE is a fine place, but doesn't seem to provide the extra help needed for those kids who need additional resources to keep up. I can say that it definitely did not adequately challenge the with more ability. Some of the grade levels ended up with very few students. On top of that, the jr high grades suffered from excessive cliquishness, an especially disappointing situation for a parochial school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint John Evangelist School
9400 Wicker Avenue, St. John, IN  46373
(219) 365-5451
Last modified Saint John Evangelist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Saint John Evangelist School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top