Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lake Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 3304 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2011

We moved to this area from Illinois and the outstanding schools were the main reason why. I'm very satisfied with the quality of education that the schools provide for the children. The new high school is going to be awesome, and I'm very proud to live in the LC district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

Lake Central High School is among the best high schools in Northwest Indiana and top 10% in the entire state. The whole district is strong academically and that is in large part due to the great staff and administration. They really care about the students' wellbeing, as does the community as a whole which really supports the district. The school is strong right now, but the future looks even brighter as a brand new beautiful high school is going to be built and planned to be done in early 2015. So excited that this school and district are going to get even better!


Posted August 31, 2011

I have two children who have attended LC. I am so impressed with the number of opportunities available to them. The faculty is excellent - extremely hard-working and truly interested in the students welfare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Fantastic school...world-renown extracurriculars. great staff! Teachers are amazing and dedicated. We are very happy with out school choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

I currently attend Lake Central, and I think it's the best school in the area. The people who don't like it blame the large enrollment. Apparently, these people have never seen the school. It's huge. It's built for a large enrollment. Also, some people dislike the modulars, or better known as the trailers. I bet they've never been inside them because you would never know you're in a trailer. They're great classrooms, and they're just as good as any other room in the school. The academics here are fantastic. If the student actually tries, they will get a great education. You can't blame the school for your children's laziness. There are many honors/AP classes and many other special interest classes, such as auto, ceramics, child development, and forensic science. There are tons of extracurriculars, and the sports teams are fantastic. Block scheduling is fantastic! We have two days to do our homework, which is very helpful, especially for those who are in sports or have jobs. SRT is also very helpful. It's a shame they're getting rid of it next year, but we can still take an SPT. Overall, this is a great school. Once again, you can't blame a school for your child's own laziness.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2010

We moved to the school system 7 years ago in anticipation that they were going to build a second high school (which our real estate agent nearly assured would happen). In fact, we gave up moving to Munster because we could get a nice house for much much less money in Saint John and take advantage of a brand new high school. HUGE mistake. My daughter is a junior here at the high school she has to attend classes in trailers, but most of the classes in the actual building are still crowded and not conducive to learning. To be fair, the teachers seem to be okay. But parental involvement is horrible (unless it is with sports). It seems as though the area has been going downhill in terms of the tri-town community's willingness to support the schools. As I drive past Munster High School, I am envious of the visible support that the town has for the school system. If it were not for the fact that my children have already made good friends in this area, we would move out in a heartbeat. The lack of support in this area is seriously bringing the whole area down! I already know several families who are moving out due to the lack of school support and to be honest, we might be next.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Lake Cantral isnt all what people say it is; it has many flaws but then again it has many good things about it. i am a sophmore currently attending lake central and im OKAY with the way it is. the education here is deffinetly a plus for this school but the kids here are something else.. there is a big drug problem here along with racism nand following the dresscode rules. there is overall a big minority group here but the main race is white. i would say that the teachers here are excellent and try there hardest to keep us on the ball with our grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2009

I am a parent of a Lake Central student. While the actual building is older, and the school is packed full of 3800+ students, there is a reason the school is crowded! Parents want a great education for their children. Parents want ample extra-cirricular activities for their children as well. My daughter is an honors student and I feel there is an array of courses to keep her interested while furthering her education. LC performs highly in the ISTEP tests as well. Overall I am quite happy with the quality of education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

As a parent of one boy already graduated and two currently attending, I have been very satisfied with the caliber of classes and teachers. My first son was a National Merit finalist entering into college and I attribute a large part of that to the LC School Corp which he had been in since kindergarten. No matter what the school size, the students and the parents need to be willing to work hard. That is the key no matter where you go. My only complaint is that for the size of the student body, we should have a better ranking in some of the sports that have open enrollment (Football, Track, etc.) I attribute this to transportation constraints for many potential athletes. Since parking is so limited, parking permits should be given out to those who truly can't ride the bus due to involvment in after hours school related actvities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

I graduated Lake Central in 2008 and I loved every minute of that school. It's very easy to get involved in an extracurricular activity because there are so many to choose from (ranging from sports to the many clubs). I've never had a problem with any of my teachers (except one was very strict.. if you would even call that a problem) and every teacher I had was always willing to help, even if that meant coming into school an hour before classes started. LC also has a SRT (Student Resource Time) so you can get help in a class or study. Overall, Lake Central is a great school and I have no regrets spending four years there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

I love Lake Central. I have been involved in much smaller school districts and not gotten nearly the cooperation and support that I have gotten from all of the staff at Lake Central. I could not believe the individual attention that is available to the students if only they (or their parents) ask.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

poor counseling for my son and two daughters during their four years there. good teachers for AP courses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

People don't realize that you don't 'receive' an education from a school, you have to 'earn' it. Lake Central is truly a great school, and kudos to the students and staff who go to a school with such a negative image by people who don't even go there. There is not a major drug problem; it is the same at every other school in the area including Munster, Crown Point, Andrean, etc. If parents aren't happy with their kid's education, then maybe they should realize that perhaps the problem is their kid and not the school. You can only put so much blame on the school for what your kid doesn't do or put effort into.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2005

Excellent School. Great academics. Premier science department.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted October 15, 2005

I have two daughters that have attended Lake Central. My oldest daughter is currently in a Phd program for computer science. My younger daughter is currently a sophomore. I think that the school has good academic programs and a great music department. The major problem is that there are too many students and overcrowding is a factor. I do believe that you get out of the school what you put into it. If you feel your child isn't doing all that well, calling the childs teachers and guidance counselors, and generally getting involved in the school would be beneficial to your child. You cannot blame the school system, knowledge can be found at Lake Central, the student however has to be willing to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

I just want everyone that Lake central is not so bad. The teachers do make a point to have students to come to the class after school or during study hall. The extracurricular activities are wonderful if the student want to do them for themselves and not for their parents. The automotive program that they have is wonderful. I attended the auto program and I have learned alot about cars and how to fix a problem. If it was an engine or not problem, but the program can only teach so much and there are vocational schools so that you can finish with automotive. so what I am trying to say is that lake central does have up and downs but what school doesn't.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 8, 2005

Lake Central High School is not a very good school.there are some teachers and coaches that are dedicated, But sadly there are more who are just there to collect a pay check.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2004

This school may seem to be a good school but it has many flaws. The staff doesn't no much about the student body. This school is also very crowded. Also, to be in an athletic activity at Lake Central is very hard because of how crowded the school is. On this website it may be voted as a real safe school but it actualy isn't. Overall I would give this school 2 out of 5 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2004

This school has way too high of an enrollment. Also, so many new subdivisions are coming up through the Dyer, Schererville, and St. John area. Lake Central is in serious trouble until another middle school is built which won't be for the next 5-6 years. I am currently an A-B student that attends Lake Central and I just can't stand this school. It is way too crowded and we are not supervised enough. To make an athletic activity at LC you would have too be really, really good to be in a sport. Every year SAT and Istep scores go down. This school is filled with drugs but the staff doesn't really know anything about it. I would rate this school a bad 2 out of 5 stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2004

The school has an excellent range of class levels based on the student's academic ability-from special education to advanced placement. There are many classes offered ranging from vocational to academic to meet the interests and goals of the student. You might need to consider if your child can survive and thrive since it is a large school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

671 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

814 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

802 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "C".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "C".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

78%

Average SAT score

1005

Graduation rate

93.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
72%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
18%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.7
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
23
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
88%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 72%
Hispanic 12% 10%
Black 6% 12%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 3%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8400 Wicker Avenue
St. John, IN 46373
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 365-8551

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT