Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Otter Creek Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 948 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

4 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2013

My son was bullied by a few teachers at this school. My son is a great kid. Has no behavioral issues at all. He is a little slow in some subjects and needed some help last year. After contacting the school several times to try to get help for him, the teachers and office staff treated us like we were just a bother to them. I asked one of his teachers about how my son was doing in her class, all she wanted to talk about was how he forgot his book (only happened 1 time) and wanted to give him a detention for it. I contacted their office 3 times to try to get my son testing to see if he needed to be placed in LD classes and they said that they would monitor his progress and would give him the testing if needed. Our phone calls were never returned, my son was never given any testing and he failed 2 classes last year. If you have a child with special needs, this is definitely not the school for your child. They will be left behind for sure! The teachers need to have more respect towards their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2011

As a mom of a special needs child, I have to agree as well. The school is sorely lacking any resources for all students and are too lazy to fund raise for special education or even the so called "normal" students. The kids spend their days pacing the special ed room like inmates, it is sad and breaks my heart that my child goes there. He has also come home with "mysterious" injuries on more than one occasion and we never get an answer as to what, why, when or where. My child can't talk. Luckily the kids in our neighborhood can and tell me what they see during the day. If Dr. Bennett is cleaning house up in Indy, he should do it at Otter Creek as well. Also, covered bridge is a big joke and just more red tape you have to wade through to get what your child deserves education wise. It is disgusting and disgraceful. Send your child anywhere else if you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2010

I must agree with the review, especially about special needs students. Nobody wants to help the student, their concern is to manage their day so they are not a problem. Some of the biggest bullies in the school are a few of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

My son is in 7th grade at Otter Creek and I, myself, attended OC. I find the teachers to be some of the best that I have come in contact with. They have a dedication to their students that is exemplary. Some of the teachers that my son has now were at OC when I attended there some 20+ years ago. You just don't find that kind of dedication at very many schools. Any time that I have any sort of issue, they are always quick to respond and, by working together, we are able to get it worked out. It was a great school 20 years ago and I still would place it among the best in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

264 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 72%
Multiracial 7% 4%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Black 2% 12%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A46%
Special education 24%N/A14%
English learners 0%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Tammy Rowshandel
Fax number
  • (812) 462-4388

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 North Lafayette Street
Terre Haute, IN 47805
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 462-4391

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grace Baptist Academy
Terre Haute, IN



Saint Patrick School
Terre Haute, IN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT