Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Valparaiso, IN
Students enrolled: 2,178
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valparaiso High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
This was the worst part the teachers would give rubric ready cut outs to the students.

Valparaiso High School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
Its basicly a small town powder puff school the only ones who learn grit are those abused by the staff and other students.


Valparaiso High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
It enables the richer of the student body to enjoy privilege while punishing those who are not.

Valparaiso High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
While they never bullied the handicap students they did pick on the poorer or unattractive or black students teachers did as well.

Valparaiso High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
This school was the worst it made me miserable and facilitated a hierarchy of academic dishonesty.


Valparaiso High School 1

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
Unhealthy relationship of teachers trying to be cool kids. Think 15 year old girl's being complemented on features not academics.

Valparaiso High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
Some a very few teachers would defend academic honesty and student respect. However most wanted to be friends with the student body. I remember a math teacher who tried to improve grades and help students but was quickly chased out by the students crying. You'll be fine with most teachers if your not three things. Ethnic, shy, poor.

Valparaiso High School 3

Posted August 24, 2014
- a student
It's average. The staff is somewhat rude, some teachers are engaging and fun, others are boring and grade on work effort rather than their actual understanding. I also dislike the emphasis on athletics. I came from a middle school who had been to the science olympiad national tournament 25 years in a row. Here, the science o team places poorly at state, possibly because the it's the same boring coach who barley coaches at all. The football team, however, does extremely well, basically all the time. Don't get me wrong, athletics are important, but there should be some involvement in academic teams. I also requested to be in Lunch B but they said no. I guess that's really not their fault but socially in the high school I feel outcasted. All the students here are just numbers.


Valparaiso High School 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
The offerings at this school are great. The staff is friendly and my daughter has had a great experience so far.

Valparaiso High School 3

Posted January 29, 2014
- a student
I am a former student of VHS. I graduated with honors and distinction. That being said, it is disgusting to me how much athletics reigns supreme at this school. In my day, teachers were hired according to what sport they would be coaching. The end result was that I had a number of teachers who were laughably awful at their jobs. The speech/debate team was constantly losing funding so that the school could provide more for the football team. I also dealt with a number of closed-minded and racist teachers. The oversight of employees here is awful. The administration at the school is horribly inept, rude, and inefficient. You really are treated like a number here, unless you are a star athlete or the child of a school administrator. When I moved to Valparaiso, the school guidance counselor told me that the honors classes at the high school would be "too hard" for me and refused to allow me to be in an advanced course. Thankfully, I was able to enroll in honors courses for the rest of the four years after convincing the administration that my grades were high enough. All in all, mediocre and miserable school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valparaiso High School
2727 Campbell Street, Valparaiso, IN  46385
(219) 531-3070
Last modified Valparaiso High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Valparaiso High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top