Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cumberland Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 655 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

I have had 3 kids attend this school and couldn't have been happier with their experience. Their teachers were fabulous! They are the kind of teachers you dream of for your child - teaching above and beyond just the requirements. I had 1 child who struggled and the level of support and accommodations were impressive. She was given many strategies that helped her to grow and now needs no additional support. We love you Cumberland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

This school has good students, well prepared by parents at home. However, most of the teachers are not high quality. The teachers can do whatever they want, there is nothing you can do to fix things, the school is run like a dictatorship, because they know they get good test scores based on parents' work, so why would they care about what the parents have to say? Parents suggestions are rejected. Parents I talked to say you need to go through this school to go to Happy Hollow Elementary in grade 4th, which is supposed to be better. Hopefully. Overall, not a good school at all, but you can certainly be sure your child will be surrounded by children of parents who value education, and I think that is good motivation to go to this school and put up with some annoying, (and some borderline abusive), incompetent teachers. Also, the secretary is extremely rude and unfriendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

We moved here specifically so that our children could attend such a challenging and amazing school. My daughter is getting a private school education at a public school and to me that is priceless. She is in 1st grade and has spelling words like "capacity" and "relinquish". I love that she is being challenged and she is doing amazing! The principal is VERY involved and takes parent concerns very seriously. The teachers are excellent and I also love how involved the parents are. This school is so amazing because of the MANY parent volunteers. Education starts at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2010

The school has diversity related issues. Most of the teachers are mediocre. The school is clique even at the elementary school level, which is driven by the snobbish and elitist attitudes of the parents. Academic program is weak. The high scores are mostly due to the extracurricular paid tutoring that the parents provide for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I have a 2 children at Cumberland. Although the test scores are good, how could they not be? A large portion of the students parents are professors or otherwise affiliated with Purdue University. There are no lower income areas in town. (Scores at the school near Indiana University, Childs Elem. are quite a bit higher for comparison.) The school principal and teachers are not too interested in parent involvement or viewpoints. The constant response is ''''this is how we do it.' I think the school is riding on their laurels in the form of test scores. Recess is not generally taken in my kids class. Their is little emphasis on science, etc. Not very creative and is very controlled and strict, even for kindergarteners. All parents I have spoken to in my childrens class have related viewpoints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

New to the school system and very impressed. The teachers communicate with the parents on the progress of the student and involve the parents on every aspect of the student's development. Excellent academic programs and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Excellent School System with inner level teaching to meet the needs of all students. Music and art rate high in the daily program; with good opportunities for extracurricular language and other studies. Parents are welcome to be involved at whatever level possible; the more, the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Excellent quality of academic programs, great parent involvement, small classes, outstanding music program for young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

This school has an above average academic program. Lots of extracurricular activities. And a high level of parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2006

West Lafayette Schools are among the highest rated in the state for academic performance and state testing. It offers the only orchestra program in the area beginning in the forth grade. New advanced placement courses are to be added over the next couple years in the high school. The school has a very active parent participation and involvement in many areas of the school curriculum, new administration hiring to building assessments. Parents are often invited to join task forces and committees to contribute to the continued improvement of the school. Yes, parents do contribute a great deal to the success of the students, along with excellent teachers, staff and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 72%
Asian 24% 2%
Black 7% 12%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A46%
Special education 7%N/A14%
English learners 7%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Kimberly Bowers
Fax number
  • (765) 464-3210

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Cumberland Avenue
West Lafayette, IN 47906
Website: Click here
Phone: (765) 464-3212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori School of Great
West Lafayette, IN


Happy Hollow Elementary
West Lafayette, IN




New Community School
Lafayette, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT