Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I have had 3 kids attend this school and couldn't have been happier with their experience. Their teachers were fabulous! They are the kind of teachers you dream of for your child - teaching above and beyond just the requirements. I had 1 child who struggled and the level of support and accommodations were impressive. She was given many strategies that helped her to grow and now needs no additional support. We love you Cumberland!

Cumberland Elementary School 3

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
This school has good students, well prepared by parents at home. However, most of the teachers are not high quality. The teachers can do whatever they want, there is nothing you can do to fix things, the school is run like a dictatorship, because they know they get good test scores based on parents' work, so why would they care about what the parents have to say? Parents suggestions are rejected. Parents I talked to say you need to go through this school to go to Happy Hollow Elementary in grade 4th, which is supposed to be better. Hopefully. Overall, not a good school at all, but you can certainly be sure your child will be surrounded by children of parents who value education, and I think that is good motivation to go to this school and put up with some annoying, (and some borderline abusive), incompetent teachers. Also, the secretary is extremely rude and unfriendly.


Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
We moved here specifically so that our children could attend such a challenging and amazing school. My daughter is getting a private school education at a public school and to me that is priceless. She is in 1st grade and has spelling words like "capacity" and "relinquish". I love that she is being challenged and she is doing amazing! The principal is VERY involved and takes parent concerns very seriously. The teachers are excellent and I also love how involved the parents are. This school is so amazing because of the MANY parent volunteers. Education starts at home!

Cumberland Elementary School 2

Posted May 31, 2010
- a parent
The school has diversity related issues. Most of the teachers are mediocre. The school is clique even at the elementary school level, which is driven by the snobbish and elitist attitudes of the parents. Academic program is weak. The high scores are mostly due to the extracurricular paid tutoring that the parents provide for the children.

Cumberland Elementary School 3

Posted January 30, 2008
- a parent
I have a 2 children at Cumberland. Although the test scores are good, how could they not be? A large portion of the students parents are professors or otherwise affiliated with Purdue University. There are no lower income areas in town. (Scores at the school near Indiana University, Childs Elem. are quite a bit higher for comparison.) The school principal and teachers are not too interested in parent involvement or viewpoints. The constant response is ''''this is how we do it.' I think the school is riding on their laurels in the form of test scores. Recess is not generally taken in my kids class. Their is little emphasis on science, etc. Not very creative and is very controlled and strict, even for kindergarteners. All parents I have spoken to in my childrens class have related viewpoints.


Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2007
- a parent
New to the school system and very impressed. The teachers communicate with the parents on the progress of the student and involve the parents on every aspect of the student's development. Excellent academic programs and extracurricular activities.

Cumberland Elementary School 4

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2007
- a parent
Excellent School System with inner level teaching to meet the needs of all students. Music and art rate high in the daily program; with good opportunities for extracurricular language and other studies. Parents are welcome to be involved at whatever level possible; the more, the better!


Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
Excellent quality of academic programs, great parent involvement, small classes, outstanding music program for young children.

Cumberland Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
This school has an above average academic program. Lots of extracurricular activities. And a high level of parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cumberland Elementary School
600 Cumberland Avenue, West Lafayette, IN  47906
(765) 464-3212
Last modified Cumberland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3
Cumberland Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.