Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shamrock Springs Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 437 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2009

My much younger brother attended SSES and our family loved it. They were very friendly and helpful, and the staff really try to get to know the families. So much so, that when I arrived to have lunch with him, before i could give my first name, the secretary said, 'You must be his oldest sister, he said you might come by today' Great school with lots of fun stuff for families who want to play an active role in their child's early years.


Posted December 28, 2006

What a wonderful school! We have had a child at SSES for 2 years. We have had exceptional teachers in both the kindergarten and 1st grades with superior academic excellence. The principal is 1st rate as well. Overall the school gets a 5 star rating from our family as well as many others in our community. This school has a very involved group of parents in the PTO who work closely with the principal and teachers. We will be sad to leave this school due to a job transfer. I doubt we will find a school as unique and genuine as the one we have been blessed with for 2 years. Extracurricular activities in this school are booming! Many, many choices in Westfield within the school and community. Shamrock Springs Elementary School is great and we would highly recommend it to anyone coming to our area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

My daughter is new to SSES this year. The staff has been tremendously helpful. Her teacher was willing to meet with me. The assistant principal also met with me to make sure my daughter was adjusting well to public school. I feel my daughter is getting a top notch education. She is receiving one-on-one reading instruction everyday. She gets to go to art, PE, music or the library every week. The PTO is very active and has a ton of after school enrichment programs like science, piano, and Spanish. I am impressed with this school's commitment to helping students achieve their personal best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2005

This school house first thru fourth graders and is definitely a positive influence in your child's life. I have had 3 children at this school and it has been a great experience. They are on the up and up with technology and teaching the kids. The teaching staff are young and energetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2004

I am incredibly happy with the teachers, curriculum, activities, and administration at SSES - so much so that remaining in the district is an absolute must in our current house hunting efforts. Our son attended K-4 there, our daughter is in third, and our youngest is in Kindergarten - we want very much for them to continue there given how much they enjoy it and how happy we are at their achievements and enjoyment there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 72%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 5% 2%
Black 2% 12%
Hispanic 1% 10%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A46%
Special education 9%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

747 West 161st Street
Westfield, IN 46074
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 867-7400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Maple Glen Elementary
Westfield, IN





Union Bible Academy
Westfield, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT