Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carey Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 513 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2013

The Carey Ridge Elementary is above an avarage, it is excellent! From principal to lunch staff, everyone knows each child by almost their names. After searching some private schools for my daughter, who is now 18 and about to graduate from Westfield High School, I decided to stick with Carey Ridge, because it met all my private school exceptations. I always remember, one morning my daugher missed the bus, and she was strained at the house with an aunt visiting from overseas with no car. The principal Mrs. Hobson, jumped her car and picked up my daughter, so she won't miss the field trip that morning. How many principals would do that??? I had a phone call from school cafetaria staff when my son, who is a 4rd grader, forgot his lunch, and informing me what they served him instead. They might not have violin classes, but they have a very talented music teacher who puts together fun choirs and shows like musical every year. I can go on and on about this school, because I have two kids attended Carey Ridge and all my experiences with staff and teachers are excellent. I couldn't ask a better school than this. One last note, parents' involvement is huge and admirable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

My daughter went here for K, and most of 1st before we moved to California. After living in California for almost exactly 2 years we are moving back shortly before the end of 3rd grade and when we selected our home to return we choose based on going back to Carey Ridge because the experience there was so positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

I moved out of another school district so my children could go to Westfield Washington Schools. My girls ended up going to Carey Ridge. It is an amazing school. You can tell how much the staff and teachers love the children! They get so excited about the activities at school. Both of my children has Mrs Hoard for Kindergarten. She was a God send! Every teacher I have had since then are great as well. I brag about CRES to all my friends. I am extremely glad that I chose Carey Ridge!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

.This school is has excellent administration staff and teachers. The teachers all seem to really care about the students and their success. The adminstration is very committed to the schools success as well and listens to parent feedback, adjusting where needed in response to concerns. Overall, we love this school. However, to fit in here socially you have to be one of 3 things - 1. originally born and raised here, 2. live in the affluent neighborhoods 3. not a working mom. If you aren't one of those 3 things you might as well forget it. Its a very unforgiving crowd and they don't take kindly to new people. . not the kids, the parents. The school is incredible but the parents could sure stand to learn a few lessons from the school regarding how to treat people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

Unlike other major school systems in Hamilton and Marion Counties this school and school system, does not have an advanced academic program for its exceptional learners until 4th grade!!! The other area school systems start advanced academics for gifted children in Kindergarten. The school also falls behind other schools in Hamilton and Marion County, in that it does not teach foreign language or orchestra at the elementary level. Because of these short comings, we send our daughter to IPS. There she receives specialized above grade level instruction daily, Spanish daily, violin weekly, and advanced art weekly. Given the amount of money and extra funding that Westfield Schools receives from the State and tax referendum, I do not understand why, or how, this school system is so behind other schools in the area?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I think this school is really good for my son. He just started and seems to really enjoy his teachers and classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Carey Ridge Elementary just won the Blue Ribbon of Excellent Award, the principal, counselor and at least two teachers have been awarded state and/or national recognition for their efforts. The leveled reading in first grade benefits all levels of readers. School administrators and teachers are restricted by the No Child Left Behind Act in regards to curriculum, but where there is room for excellence, Carey Ridge strives to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

The school is attractive but that is where it ends. The principal didn't seem interested in having a demanding curriculum. A shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

Very very average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This school is wonderful the teachers all give 110% to every child. my daughter has come along way and I give hats off to all the staff down to the lunch ladies. Keep up the great work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2005

I can't say enough about Carey Ridge. The entire staff is awesome. We have 2 children there. Both are excelling academically and socially. The teachers go out of their way to be effective and relevant to each individual child!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 72%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Asian 5% 2%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Black 4% 12%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 9%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Susan Hobson
Fax number
  • (317) 867-2363

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16231 Carey Road
Westfield, IN 46074
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 867-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Union Bible Academy
Westfield, IN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT