Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Woods Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 415 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

This school is terrific. I applied for a non resident application so that my grandchildren could attend this school. The teachers and staff are friendly and informative. They keep you up to date on everything going on with your kids. They are on top of everything new and innovative that will help the children learn and RETAIN. This entire school system is a shining star among schools in Indiana. The rest of the state should follow their example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Washington Woods is excellent. I have had all three of my kids attend this school and I give this school nothing but the highest in ratings. The remark about the test scores is totally inaccurate. The ISTEP scores for 2013 so far are that 95% of the 4th graders passed the Mathmatics portion and 91% of the 4th grades passed in Language Arts. On the NWEA testing in 2011-2012 90% of our students reached their growth targets. On the IREAD3 testing for 2012 in General Education 100% of our students passed. Kudos to DR. Williams and all of his staff for developing a great team and wonderful environment for my children to learn and to grow into successful young adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I love this school. I've already but 1 child through there...now I have a 3rd grader
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My daughter loves everyone at Washington Woods, the staff is fantastic and the building is great. Dr. Williams is a fantastic principal and the students adore him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2012

The office adminstrative staff is very unfriendly And unprofessional . I removed my child mid year .. Nice area, horrible school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

This is a GREAT school - We have had our kids at WWES for 3 years and they are learning wonderfully. The teachers have all been fantastic and the other staff that we have encountered have all been A+. We tranfered in from a private school and have been nothing pleased. Much better learning experience than the private school. WWES Keep Up the Good work :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

Our family has moved many times so my boys and I are well versed in the cultures of other school districts. I can honestly recommend this school. I love the cirruculum and the attention my boys receive. The class sizes are just right, and the teachers are very attentive. I am shocked that anyone would negatively rate this school. My boys love it and don't ever want to move again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

my 1st grader loves his teacher & his school. as a parent, the anti bullying program is both reassuring and refreshing. my son gets individual attention and each child learns at their own pace. we love washington woods and proudly give this school two thumbs up1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

I moved my child out of Washington Woods.I visited Shamrock, Maple Glen, Oak Trace and the staff of these schools are professional, welcoming, and kind. In Washington Woods, my family only experienced unkindness and unprofessionalism. I am glad that we are out of this school for good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2010

WWES is a wonderful school. Totally focused on the needs of children. We had 3 kids go through this school. The staff is awesome, they love what they do and it shows! I have NEVER had a bad experience, In the 12 years we have been at WWES. Dr. Williams is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Terrible experience overall. Not recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Washington Woods focuses on the complete child, and not just academics. They make sure that a child is happy and well rounded. They also focus on the family. The principal is a wonderful man, and makes sure that he is accessible to every parent and every child everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

Nothing but positive experiences. My children are doing very well here. I'm suprised by some of the negative comments. I've found the administration and teachers to be very easy to work with and very accomodating. Furthermore - my kids are progressing ahead of grade level. Excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2009

My child had terrible time in this school. IMO this school needs a big change from the top to the bottom. I took out my child from this place and send him where there are better teachers, better leadership and people that care and you can actually talk with. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

I have never met such caring, thoughtful teachers in my life. My child adores her. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

I would not send my child into this school. Ask around the other parents before you enroll your child in this environment. IMO this one is not good. I agree with previous post that parents are moving their children out of this school for better schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

This is the worst school that I've ever been in my entire life. It is one of the schools with the lowest test scores in Hamilton county and the migration is pretty high. I feel there is no a good leadership in this school. It is very cliquish and close minded environment. Some of the teachers I would never recommend to teach anybody. There are many better schools in Washington Westfield District. I would recommend Maple Glen or Oak Trace Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I just love this school and the staff is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2003

This school, in my opinion, is the best there is. The teachers are so kind and eager to get to know you and your child and to help your child succeed in everything they do. We are now in a brand new school called Washington Woods, which is beautiful, and the way they have added 'houses' to the curriculum seems to be a great thing. This is where they have interaction between the grade levels. The older children get to be mentors to the younger ones, and they learn patience and a sense of community. I just cannot say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 72%
Hispanic 19% 10%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A46%
Special education 15%N/A14%
English learners 12%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Scott Williams
Fax number
  • (317) 867-1501

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17950 Grassy Branch Road
Westfield, IN 46074
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 867-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Union Bible Academy
Westfield, IN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT