Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Rogers Clark Md/High School

Public | 6-12 | 1500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2012

Fantastic School. I cannot believe i was so worried to send my daughter here. I love the new renovations and "Coffee With The Principle" days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

I am very pleased with this school. Excellent all around. It's the perfect size. And i love the courses it offers my children. Their drama club is great. Real talent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2012

http://www.hammond.k12.in.us/clarkhs/ Great school. We're only progressing! Thanks to all the help from parents and the Robertsdale community. Check out our website, new and improved. We have been renovating recently many areas of the school. There has been a lot of progressing recently. This school deserves more credit then most give it.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 17, 2012

If you live in the Hammond highschool area, you can still send your children to Clark if you go to administration and your child has no infractions. Clark is a fantastic school. More parents should consider Clark for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

Great school. Wouldn't send my kids anywhere else. We live in the Robertsdale area so they can walk to/attend Clark. This school deserves more credit then given to it. a. NO gangs. Those accusations are absurd. b. Great teachers! c. WONDERFUL extra curricular!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

George Rogers Clark has the best teacher quality then any other school in Hammond/Whiting. Your children actually come home with homework! (unlike most schools in the area). The staff quality is great. I rated this school Excellent, because the school deserves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

I am in all advanced/honors classes @ Clark:). It is a great school if you give it a chance. I love it here! I think the main problem are those students who live in Hammond who come to Clark. The Clark students living in Whiting/Robertsdale don't seem to be the problem, it's the Hammond kids. We have wonderful, high-quality teachers who help us to strive to do our best! I see that our ratings are low :'(... but the teachers and most of us students are trying to make up for all the slackers =D !!! So if you are thinking of sending your child to Clark, please make sure they do their work and don't bring us all down. -cheerleadingxox -junior2012 -Current student


Posted October 1, 2012

Honestly, this school is a good public school. I see that the tests scores are rated at a 2 currently, but it's a big school. If you have a good kid and make sure they get into honors classes, then they'll be fine. The school has turned around recently, for the better. I would recommend this school to other parents in my area. The administration is wonderful. They are working their bums off trying to keep the school in order. The teachers are great. If your child need extra help in a subject they will help them. The homework is existent however there isn't so much that your child doesn't have time to participate in the many extra-curricular GRC offers. I really just want to get the point across that this isn't a terrible school. Everyone says how bad it is. It truly isn't. I sent my daughter and son to BNI their freshman years and both wanted to switch to Clark. Both succeeded more academically at Clark. Both had more opportunities to join after school groups. At Clark, your child is not just another number, if you have a good child, they will succeed. Don't waste money on things you can get for free. :) thanks for the read!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

My son is a freshman at this school and we both love it, the bus picks him up so it dosent interfere with my schedule the teaches are great and its a very friendly invionment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Clark high school is by far the best ther is! i am an attending student here and love it! If i had a chance to go to any school in hammon i would deffinatel stay here. There are no more fights here there are so many sports u can join! our soccer team is now bigger than our own football team that should mean something. We know even have a girls bowling and gold team! i love it here the teachers are so friendly!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Clark school has teachers and staff who really care about their students. Some of the teachers go above and beyond ' doing their job ', they give of themselves to the students on their own time, which is rare these days. Therefore the students can get involved in more activities than they normally would. They are willing to go the extra mile to help a student if needed. Over all Clark has great parent, teacher, student interaction. They offer a wide range of activities for the kids to be involved with which is a plus. Ms. Lisa Writt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I graduated from that school and NO, it wasn't that good, but let's look at the public school options in the Hammond/Whiting area - Hammond High, Whiting High, Gavit, and Morton. Clark far outshines all of these other schools, which may not be saying much, but what can a family in the Region do without having to pay for private school?


Posted December 15, 2008

My son just started attending Clark this year. IF I HAD ENOUGH MONEY, I would NOT have sent him to Clark! I'm NOT even Catholic and IF I could, I would send him to St. Casimir's. I attended this school and HATED it! And from the few months he has been there, I have not had cooperation from teachers, which is NOT a surprise!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

i am a parent of 2 children at this school.and , so far this year my son just started there and he has no real complaints yet. my other child is in high school. and hates the school.. the fighting, gangs. i have tried to contact the counselors and no one gets back to me. the lockers dont work they are over crowded badly.. we are gong to move out of the hammond school system . soon.... my child went from a's and b's to d's and f's ever since she came to this school... she hates it and everyday is a fight to get her to school... thank you for listening.. i am a concerned parent....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I'm a parent or George Rogers Clark MD/High School I'm very happy whith my kid teachers and Principal. I like to tanks to Mrs. T Moyers Math Teacher Tanks you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

im a legal guardian of my sister who is now a freshman there im only 24 years old and feel that my future kids will never attend thatschool. lack of communication with parents. which i believe is the most important matter of running a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Do not Think of sending you child to this School! They are not organized and from what I see they're there just to get paid not because they care of your childs education. I actually had to remove my kids from there and move to the Suburbs in Illinois just so they can have a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2006

i'm a 7th grade student in clark and i have to say this is the worst school ever.The school is over-crowded and they cant keep the students from getting into fights.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2006

The administration does not! know how to handle SED children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

My child has been here for about half a year, and went from an A,B student to a C,D troublemaker. Everytime we ask for a conference we meet with all the teachers not just the one we have questions for. Then when we ask one teacher a question the others start to answer the question for him/her. When we ask why there is no homework being sent home and call the teachers we get a progress report telling us how bad our child is doing. The homework they do send is word searches and crossword puzzles, which should be given when going on winter or spring break. We are in the process of moving just so our child has a better education, it's a shame that we have to leave the place where they grew up. Not all teachers are bad but all it takes is a non-caring few.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
20%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

59%

Average SAT score

440

Graduation rate

79.6%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
43%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
37%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.3
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
18
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
77%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 10%
White 16% 72%
Black 10% 12%
Multiracial 2% 4%
American Indian 1% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 24%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Robert Wilson
Fax number
  • (219) 659-1599

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1921 Davis Avenue
Whiting, IN 46394
Website: Click here
Phone: (219) 659-3522

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Stanislaus School
East Chicago, IN


East Chicago Lighthouse
East Chicago, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT