Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zionsville Community High School

Public | 9-12 | 1814 students

Our school is best known as an outstanding academic institution.
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

As a student at Zionsville High School, I can tell you that some of the reviews posted on here are just plain ridiculous. I have not gone to Zionsville all my life, I went to a private school up until 8th grade. If you try to get involved in after school activities like sports or music, there really should be no problem at all making friends. I do agree that there are a lot of cliques and that might be hard for some people to adjust to, but there really is a place for everyone at this school and on the whole they are very welcoming. And, honestly, if you are not the one using drugs, the "drug problem" will not affect you AT ALL. It isn't a big enough problem that it consumes the entire school. It is a really good learning environment and I really encourage people to go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2013

This school is great. From personal experience people have treated me kindly, even though I just moved here. They welcomed me with open arms and I quickly made friends. I am hispanic and have not been teased once while staying here. Sure, there may be some drug problems, but doesn't every school have that? Before I moved here I told my friends about how I would go to ZCHS. They said, "Oh that's a prissy rich school. I heard people there are racist." And I'm proving that wrong. There isn't much diversity but that doesn't mean we're racist. People are hearing bad things about this school when really all the problems are at every other school. You can't prevent that no matter where you go. If you could choose what school to go to, I would recommend here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 22, 2013

Academically, ZCHS offers just about everything your son or daughter needs to successfully prepare for college. I know that is the primary concern of most parents in the Zionsville community. I have to agree with other reviewers who state that the school is very cliquish. It has been very difficult for my now senior daughter to really feel part of any social group (we moved here her eighth grade year). She had even been part of a varsity team here at the school. One of the best highlights for her years in Zionsville has been the music programs. The Orchestra Director position has been made part time though, and this raises concerns about the administration's commitment to keeping the school's music programs strong in the coming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

True, Zionsville is very cliquish and not welcome to diversity. If your kid finds their talent in a sport or in a mainstream activity, they will get school support and be encouraged. If they are regular or talented in another way, your are on your own and don't plan on support. Even with exceptional academic test scores, you may not find support. I won't even go into the differences in supporting girls in academics here. If your student requires any academic support, they will be successful if they have the maturity and skills to advocate for themselves and where the parents mandate the legal requirements be met. If they actually have issues that make self-advocacy difficult, you'll probably work with a legal advocate or attorney to try to obtain your legally mandated services. And it will be hard to obtain your services. And yes there are drugs and drug dealing in the school. The hard part is it may not be the kids you suspect and most students have access to some discretionary funds you don't watch. If I had it to do again, I would not have my kids in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2012

I can't believe that there are people accusing this wonderful school of being rude and intolerable. Yes, it has a drug problem, but I challenge you to find a similar school that doesn't. My experience at ZCHS has completely changed my life. I came out of a different district's middle school with a 2.9 GPA. During my following year, I received all A's and a 4.25 GPA. They really know what they are doing at this high school. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for an outstanding place to send your high schooler.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2011

As a parent, I have found this school cliquish and full of rich white kids with drug problems. There is little diversity, tolerance or acceptance of kids who did not grow up here. We moved here several years ago and have had nothing but trouble with the local kids, and very little support from the school system. My kids were bullied and had their belongings destroyed, stolen or damaged by the local kids on school property. Drug use is rampant.The town has an abundance of well-to-do conservative parents, unsupervised entitled kids with money and transportation, and a community insistent on keeping it that way. While the school system touts it's 5 star program, and certainly does encourage education... racism, drugs and intolerance seem to be the big issues here. I think you will find the reviews of this school divided into 2 camps. Those that lived here all there lives and had a great, accepting, experience...and those that moved here and are shocked by the way their children were treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Zionsville is a wonderful school district to live in. Parents, students and administration plays pivotal role in our children's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

I am a recent graduate of Zionsville, and I feel that my high school experience was great. I just recently graduated from Indiana University and I feel that Zionsville put me a step ahead of all of my friends at school. They really prepared me for the rigors of a college workload. I highly recommend this high school to anyone. We used to say that 'Zionsville was the public school that made private schools look bad.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 15, 2009

I graduated from ZCHS a couple years ago, and I must say, it really was an excellent school. There are a wide variety of classes, and the teachers are extremely knowledgable about their subjects. The administration maintains a great rapport with the students, although sometimes they kind of leave parents out of the loop. After leaving this school and going into college, I felt very prepared for my classes and never felt like I was struggling to keep up. While some people say there is a drug problem, I never felt pressured to take drugs, and neither did any of the people I was friends with. I never felt like it was a problem in the least.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

Communication with parents is terrible at the high school. Little differentiation in classroom instruction exists and 21st century skills are not promoted. The excellent communication of the previous principal has gone by the wayside with the existing principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

We moved our children from Indianapolis where they attended a very expensive, well-known private school until the 6th (& 5th) grades. They were behind in their academics, and it took them some time to catch up. My children had no idea how to study nor how to take tests or quizes. Now they are in high school and doing well even though it is extremely challenging. Anytime I've contacted a teacher, administrator or counselor, my phone call has been returned in a timely manner. Of course, I attend the back-to-school nights, teacher conferences and help with all the volunteer events I can manager. My husband and I along with our boys are totally pleased with our decision to move to Zionsville. Yes, the school does have its problem kids and drugs and alcohol. But from every parent I talk to in all the public and private surrounding schools, they do also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

Our family also was treated rudely -- when we tried to arrange a shadowing visit for our son, who was a top student at a private middle school. Apparently they had eliminated that program the year before (although they did offer us a tour of the facilities), but there was no reason to treat us with impatience when we inquired. Our son decided to attend a private high school, where we were treated with warmth and respect even though we aren't wealthy. There is stiff competition among private and public schools for outstanding students these days, and the private schools are putting a lot of creativity and money into recruiting them. Unless this school begins treating families more graciously, it is going to continue to lose these top students to other institutions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

I graduated from Zionsville a few years ago. Many of the students used drugs, but it wasn t a high pressure environment. There were no gangs, stealing, or any of the usual problems that surround the drug use. I would rate this school as a very friendly learning environment with motivated teachers, especially in the state of Indiana with its mediocre educational standard. If I had to say one thing that the school could improve on is its lack of diversity. I was one of the only minority students, and I did get some racist remarks. But that s something many of them will learn in college where majority of them will end up.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2005

I was surprised by the glowing reports of the parents who reviewed this school previously. My experience was significantly different. ZHS definitely has a drug problem, although I wouldn't say it is pervasive. I guess no school is immune. But my frustration was in the denial of the administration that problems exist. As a parent, the level of response you get from administration is directly proportional to your level of status in the community. The office staff is difficult to deal with, and often quite rude to both students and parents. It seems a very clique based community and school. They cater to the upper 10% and have little resources or interest in the remainder of the students. I hate to write such a negative review, but after reading the others, I feel it important to add my unfortunate experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Wow! this is such a great school! they have great teachers who are willing to help with everything! the students seem to be very kind and accepting to new students! they have top istep scores in indiana! they constantly strive to do better! the crime rate in zionsville is very low and drugs arn't even an issue! this school really blows webo and lebanon out of the water! they can't even begin to compare! the community is very nice and clean! it is a great place for kids to grow up! the high school also prepares you very well for collage! its perfect! you must see for yourself! the community grows daily and news houses are being put everywhere but if you more a country person there are more spread out spaces about 10 minutes from the school! i definatly give zionsville 2 thumbs up! what a great place!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2004

great learning environment. Good kids who (along with the parents) understand importance of education. Only concern is the high property tax and the growth of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

425 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

91%

Average SAT score

578

Graduation rate

97%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
90%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
10%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
3.1
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
28
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
89%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 72%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Multiracial 2% 4%
Black 1% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 1%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Zionsville Middle School
Zionsville West Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 6% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 88% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Indiana University
Purdue University
Butler
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Top 1000 U.S. High Schools (2012)
  • College Board AP Honor Roll (2012)
  • Indiana "4-Star" School (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Leukemia & Lymphoma Society - Top Contributor (2012)
  • Relay for Life - First IN H.S. Relay (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Flag girls
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Dual Credit College Courses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
School Leader's name
  • Mr Tim East
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (317) 873-8002

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Hybrid
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • Dual Credit College Courses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Flag girls
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Game club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School colors
  • Green and Silver
School mascot
  • Eagles
More from this school
  • Our Mission ZCHS provides a customized 21st century learning experience that insures maximum student growth leading to productive citizenship in the world community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indiana University
Purdue University
Butler
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
Dual Credit College Courses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 6%
4 year college - 88%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Mulberry Street
Zionsville, IN 46077
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 873-3355

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Early Career Academy
Indianapolis, IN




Pike High School
Indianapolis, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT