Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Albia High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 4, 2011

ACHS is an innovative school; most teachers, the counselors, and administrators work to do what is good for students.


Posted May 11, 2011

If you academics are more important than education then this is a great school to put your student in. If you want your student to have 4 "study halls" and only take maybe 2 classes then this is a great school for your student. However, if you want your student to graduate with a wide understanding of various topics and be prepared for college don't send your student here. Vary few students receive the education they need. They get babied and don't learn responsibility or ownership for their actions. Athletes are given a golden ticket to get away with anything while those that want to learn get shuffled to the side and lose out on a lot of opportunity because of those that lack motivation and lack general interest in their education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2011

This school does not try to educate students. Instead they just try and get them to pass. Most students that attend a 4 year college after graduating are not prepared and eventually drop out. The Administration has favorites and it shows. They will dicipline one student one way and turn around at treat another student completely different based on their last name. I would never let my child attend Albia.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2008

As a former parent and now grandparent I think Albia Schools are excellent in understand the needs of children seperately not as a group. I feel the current personnel in the grade school and middle school are one of the best in iowa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Spending more money on sports than educational programs, and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

This is a wonderful school district with many highly motivated educator. I couldn't be any more pleased with the quality of the education my children are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

We lived in albia for 5 years. I was so excited for my daughter to get to high school. She Finally made it and she was so happy. She told me that there we many academics and the teachers were so nice and helpful. Then we moved a couple of weeks ago and she just fell to pieces..she didnt want to leave this school...she would miss her friends..and her favorite teacher...Mrs. Koehler..she talked about her all the time..Thank you Mrs. Koehler for teaching my daughter leadership qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

I went to Albia 2 years ago and had so many great opportunities! You can be as involved as you want to be and can get some great experiences! The teacher's are willing to work with you yet have high enough expectations. The principal was always trying to think of new ways to get more student unity, spirit and involvement. You could tell her sense of pride she had for her job. I recieved a great education and have a lot of great memories from my time at Albia.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Iowa used the Iowa Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The scores reflect the performance of students enrolled for the full academic year. The Iowa Assessments are standards-based tests, which measure specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Iowa. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Iowa Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Iowa Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Hispanic 3% 9%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

503 B Ave East
Albia, IA 52531
Phone: (641) 932-2161

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT