Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Albia, IA
Students enrolled: 352

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Albia High School 5

Posted November 04, 2011
- a community member
ACHS is an innovative school; most teachers, the counselors, and administrators work to do what is good for students.

Albia High School 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a teacher
If you academics are more important than education then this is a great school to put your student in. If you want your student to have 4 "study halls" and only take maybe 2 classes then this is a great school for your student. However, if you want your student to graduate with a wide understanding of various topics and be prepared for college don't send your student here. Vary few students receive the education they need. They get babied and don't learn responsibility or ownership for their actions. Athletes are given a golden ticket to get away with anything while those that want to learn get shuffled to the side and lose out on a lot of opportunity because of those that lack motivation and lack general interest in their education.


Albia High School 1

Posted April 01, 2011
- a teacher
This school does not try to educate students. Instead they just try and get them to pass. Most students that attend a 4 year college after graduating are not prepared and eventually drop out. The Administration has favorites and it shows. They will dicipline one student one way and turn around at treat another student completely different based on their last name. I would never let my child attend Albia.

Albia High School 5

Posted December 10, 2008
- a parent
As a former parent and now grandparent I think Albia Schools are excellent in understand the needs of children seperately not as a group. I feel the current personnel in the grade school and middle school are one of the best in iowa.

Albia High School 2

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
Spending more money on sports than educational programs, and it shows!


Albia High School 5

Posted April 22, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Albia High School 5

Posted January 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Albia High School 5

Posted November 08, 2007
- a parent
This is a wonderful school district with many highly motivated educator. I couldn't be any more pleased with the quality of the education my children are receiving.


Albia High School 5

Posted April 02, 2007
- a parent
We lived in albia for 5 years. I was so excited for my daughter to get to high school. She Finally made it and she was so happy. She told me that there we many academics and the teachers were so nice and helpful. Then we moved a couple of weeks ago and she just fell to pieces..she didnt want to leave this school...she would miss her friends..and her favorite teacher...Mrs. Koehler..she talked about her all the time..Thank you Mrs. Koehler for teaching my daughter leadership qualities.

Albia High School 5

Posted November 21, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albia High School
503 B Ave East, Albia, IA  52531
(641) 932-2161
Last modified Albia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Albia High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top